©2009 2012 Kathryn Gearhart (No portion of this web site may be reproduced, in any form, including Internet, electronic or print, in whole or in part.)
Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, and Yorkshire
Old Withington is about 2 miles north of Chelford.
Family of Thomas Baskervyle of Old Withington
Thomas Baskervyle, Esquire of Old Withington, Prestbury Parish, Macclesfield Hundred, cheshire in 1387, the 10th year of Richard II, was noted as having married Idonea, daughter of John de Blurton of Newcaste, Staffordshire. They were the parents of William Baskervyle, Esquire of Old Withington, who died in 1477. It would appear that they were also the parents of Grace Baskervylle who married Edmund Gee.
The Descendents of Thomas Baskervylle
William Baskervylle was listed among the knights, gentlemen, and freeholders in Macclesfield Hundred, Cheshire in 1445. William married Catherine and they were the parents of Randle Baskervyle Esquire of Old Withinton. She was most likely Catherine Maynwaryng (Mainwaring). In 1441 in the Recognanzes of Chester, William Baskervylle, Randal Maynwaryng, senior, John Maynwaryng, Knight, Thomas de Beston, Thomas de Wilbrame and Hugh Maynwaryng sent to the King recognizance of 20₤ as surities for William Baskervylle. A few months later, William de Swetenham, of Someford, Thomas de Swetenham of Swetenham, Thomas Kynce and John Madewe of Walhill, sent to the King recognizance for 20₤ as surety for William Baskervylle. In 1477 another recognizance for 40₤ was given for William and Randal his son and heir, and Ralph and John Baskervill sons of Randal to keep the peace towards John Henshawe of Chleford. This was renewed in 1380, with another recognizance of 40 ₤.
Randle married Agnes Bostock, daughter of George Bostock of Modburleigh, son of Sir Adam Bostock, Lord of Bostock. Their sons were William, John and Ralph. An indenture was made between Rondulf (Randle) Baskervyle and Agnes his wife with William Wever of the Mydlewich which stated that Randulf and Agnes would undertake not to prevent their own lands, etc or thoseof Rondulf’s father, William Baskervyle, from descending intail to William Baskervyle, son of the said Rondulf, and in default of issue to the right heirs of Rondulf, who was to be at liberty to make a demise of lands, etc. by a date specified to the yearly value of 5 makrs, for a term of twelve years; if Rondulf made any bargain of the said 5 marks, the said Wever should have the said bargain…
William was the father of William Baskervyle, who married in 1482, Agnes Mainwaring, daughter of John Mainwaring, Esquire of Peover, which lies about 2 ½ miles from Withington. Their son was George Baskervyle, who married Cicely Bradford. Agnes married in 1509 her second husband, Thomas Bulkeley, gentleman of Dichefielde and Bostoke.
George and Cicely resided in Old Withington as late as 1540. George and Cicely were the parents of William, Peter, Elizabth, Parnell, and Katherine.
The Ancestry of Thomas Baskervylle
Sir John de Baskervyle received in 1266, a grant of Old Withington from Robert de Camville, of Staffordshire. Old Withington Hall was located in Prestbury Parish, Macclesfield Hundred in Cheshire. The name was spelled Baskervyll and Baskervyle in the records. This family held the same arms as the Baskervylles of Herefordshire. The records of Prestbury parish notes their family remained at Old Withington Hall until about 1570. The family also lived at Groostrey and later at Knutsford.
They likely are originally from Staffordshire, where John de Baskervylle was noted in a suit by Thomas de Mere for a messuage and half a carucate of land in Leleheved. It notes that John did not appear, and was to be summoned. Hugh de Baskervylle was noted in 1258, with several others, in a suit by John Chete who claimed these men had maliciously destroyed the stank of his fish pond in Burewardele (Broseley) and Wylie (Willey) and taken his fish. Walter de Baskervylle was noted in 1222 in a legal action against a tenant. Walter was of the Eardisley, Herefordshire branch.
John Baskervyle married Matilda. In 1324 John de Baskevill held at Bryning one-fourths of the vill and 4 oxgangs by the service of 5 d. for castle ward and the tenth part of a knight’s fee. In Kellamergh, a hamlet of Bryning, he held one and one-fourth of the vill. This was land granted by King John to John de Baskervyle, which had once been in possession of the Stockport family. In 1275 and 1278, John de Baskervill was a defendant to claims for dower put forward by Ellen widow of Robert de Stockport. This involved 4 oxgangs of land in Bryning and Kellamergh.
John, son of John and Matilda, married Nichola and they were the parents of John, Robert, Richard, William and Adam Baskervyle.
John de Baskervyle was witness to a deed to Sir Hugh Fitton, parson of Wilmslow, from his brother John Fitton for the manor of Bolyn in 1310. In 1324 John de Baskervyle held at Bryning one-fourths of the vill and 4 oxgangs by the service of 5 d. for castle ward and the tenth part of a knight’s fee. In Kellamergh, a hamlet of Bryning, he held one and one-fourth of the vill. In 1315 is recorded an agreement between John de Baskervyl of Old Withington and Vivian de Foxwist, Butley, and his wife Edusa for the marriage of William, son of John, aged 14, and Elen daughter of Vivian and Edusa, aged 11. In 1372, Richard Mason and Margaret his wife, widow of William, son of William de Baskervill, claimed dower in four messuages, in Bryning and Kellamergh.
In the reign of Richard II, in 1389, Richard de Baskervyll was noted as a juror in an Inquisition post mortem for Geoffrey de Vernon.
John the son of John and Nichola married and was the father of Thomas, Robert and William.
Family of John Villiers, Esquire of Brokesby
Brokesby Manor, Melton Mowbray
The Villiers family was centered at Brokesby (Brooksby) in the parish of Melton Mowbray, Brookesby Hall, Leicestershire. It is 9 miles northeast of Leicester.
John Villiers, Esquire, of Brokesby and Joan Mering
John Villiers was the son of Richard and Elizabeth and grandson of Sir John de Villiers and Jane (Pakeman) Villiers. John Villiers, esquire, died in the 4th year of the reign of Henry V on the feast of St. Catharine, November 15th, 1416. John de Villiers, esquire held a messuage called Pakeman’s Place, seven cottages, four and a half virgates of land in Kirby, a messuage and two virgates in Barton, a moiety of a messuage in Ravinston, a cottage in Wiggeston, and the manor of Brokesby, of Reginald Lord Grey, of Ruthyn, with the advowson, the manors of Athon, and Howby, by knight’s service and a pair of gilt spurs.
John Villiers married Joan, daughter of Sir William Mering, knight, of Mering, Nottinghamshire. They were the parents of two documented sons, John and William and most certainly a daughter who married Richard Gee. John Villiers, the eldest son, was 12 when his father died in 1416. He became a ward of the king and died while still young.
William Villiers, of Brokesby, the younger son of John de Villiers, inherited Brokesby manor. He was married to Joan, sister and heir of John Beler, esquire of Ketilby Beler. Joan was the mother of William’s children and she died in 1475. Their identified children were Elizabeth, John, Helen, and Bartholomew. (See Hauberk Family for more about the Beler Family). William Villier’s second wife was Agnes.
Ancestors of John Villiers
The Villiers were a Norman family with many renowned members. Their arms were first sable, three Cinquefoyles Argent. The Cingquefoyle is the ancient Arms of Beaumont Earl of Leicester, from whom they held their lands in Leicester. Sir Nicholas de Villiers, knight a warrior for Edward I in the Crusades and elsewhere, bore the cross of St. George, charged with Scallops Or.
Pagan de Villiers (Villers, Vileres, Vylers) held possessions in York, Lancaster, Derby, and Nottingham counties. He was lord of Crosby, Lancastershire and Newbold, in Nottinghamshire. He was the grandson of Aymer de Villiers who was slain in 1076, and a friend of the parents of Roger Mowbray. His father Arnold de Villiers was a witness to a deed made to the hospital of St. Peter’s of York. Arnold was brother to Gulfe de Villiers who was loyal to William the conqueror after the death of his father Aymer.
Pagan de Villiers was lord of Crophill, and gave to Roger, the archbishop of York, the tithes and church of Kinalton in the reign of Henry II. Payne was the father of six sons: Sir Matthew de Villiers, of Warington; William de Villiers, of Newbold, Nottinghamshire; Alan de Villiers, lord of Crosby, Lancashire; Payne de Villiers of Newbold, Nottinghamshire; Thomas de Villiers of Outhorpe, Nottinghamshire; Richard de Villiers.
Mathew was the father of two daughters. Beatrix married Robert Fitz Holland. Albred married Robert Staunton and their son was Walter de Staunton. Evidently William, Thomas, and Richard did not leave any heirs. William de Villiers gave his cousin Alexander de Villiers ploughed lands in Newbold, Nottinghamshire. Alan de Villiers was the father of Sir Robert de Villiers. Robert married Maria, daughter of Rafe, son of Simon. They were the parents of Robert and Isabel. Robert died without children. Isabel married Robert Molineux, lord of Sefton.
Pagan de Villiers, the younger, died before his father and was the father of William de Villiers who held land in Newbold, Nottinghamshire under King John. He married Petronell, a widow. They were the parents of Alexander de Villiers of Rigby, Lincoln and Brokesby, Leicestershire (another source includes Kinalton, Nottinghamshire). Alexander died in 1245. Alexander married first, Alice, then Ceciley Seis, likely a descendent of Gilbert, tenant of Brooksby in 1210. She was the mother of Robert, Richard, Rafe, William, and Maud. Robert resided in Treford, Sussex and died without children, as did his brother Rafe. Maud married Reginald de Annesly, Nottinghamshire. William resided in Kinalton, Nottinghamshire where he married Anyce and was the father of Matthew of Kinalton, John, and Margery. John was the father of Robert de Villiers, of Newbold. Matthew de Villiers was the father of Sir Pagan de Villiers of Kinalton, knight. Sir Pagan’s only child, Margaret married Geoffrey Foljamb. Their daughter Alice married Robert Plumpton of Plumpton, York.
Sir Richard de Villiers of Rigeby and Brokesby, knight
Sir Richard de Villiers, of Brokesby was a famous warrior. He went on Crusade in 1268. He relinquished his coat of arms, Sable three Cinquefoils, Argent for the Cross of St. George, and five escallop shells on it. Sir Richard de Villiers, upon the death of his brother Robert, became the heir of his father, Alexander de Villiers. His wife has not been identified. He was the father of Hugh, who died without children, Sir John, Nicholas, William and Richard.
William also died without heirs. Richard was the father of Kenburgh de Villiers. Nicholas married Maud, who may have been a daughter of Sir John Hyde, of Hyde-Hall, in Sabridgewort, Hertfordshire, knight. He resided at Treford, Sussex and was buried at Downeampney. His son Nicholas de Villier resided at Treford.
Sir John de Villiers became heir to his father, Sir Richard de Villiers and married Frestentia. They resided at Brokesby during the reign of Henry III. Sir John was the father of two sons, John and Alexander.
Alexander of Brokesby was noted during the reign of Edward II and Edward III.
Sir John de Villiers, the younger, of Brokesby was noted as early as the 24th year of Edward I. He was the father of Geoffrey Villiers of Brokesby who married Alice. They were the parents of Thomas, parson of Brokesby under Edward III, and Sir John de Villiers, who married Joan, sister of Simon Pakeman, of Kirkby and Wigston, and died in the 15th year of Richard II. Joan’s sister, Katharine Pakeman, married Robert Digby.
Sir John de Villiers and Joan Pakeman
Sir John de Villiers and Joan were the parents of Richard, John, Beatrix, and Alexander. Beatrix married Sir John Bagot, knight. John died without heirs. Alexander married Alice, daughter of William Swayne and was the father of Isabel, Robert and Elizabeth during the reigns of Henry V and VI. Richard de Villiers, esquire, married Elizabeth.
Richard Villiers held the manor of Brokesby, Leicesershire and the advowson of the church, held of the King, during the reign of Edward II and Richard II. Richard and Elizabeth were the parents of William Villiers, rector of Brokesby and master of a chantry at Manton in Rutland; Thomas Villiers, a cloth worker (draper or tailor) and citizen of London, who was also buried at Brokesby; and John Villiers, esquire, of Brokesby who came into his inheritance when Richard died in 1392.
Children of William Villiers and Joan Beler
Elizabeth Villiers married Rafe (Ralph) Woodford of Ashby Folvile. They were the parents of William Woodford, Joanna Woodford, and Robert Woodford. William married Anne Norwich of Brampton Ash, Northamptonshire. (see Woodford Family)
The incising on the tomb of Elizabeth Villiers Woodford
Helen married John Fitzwilliam of Greens Norton. Their son was Sir William Fitzwilliam, knight, born in Northampton who died August 9, 1534 at Gainspark Hall, Essex.
Bartholomew resided in Whissenden, Rutland where he was buried. He married Margaret, daughter of Frances Clarke of Whissenden.
John Villiers, of Brokesby and Fulnetby, esquire, died before his father. He was born about 1435 and married Elizabeth, sister of John Southill, esquire, Sheriff of Lincolnshire who was born in West Rasen, Yorkshire. His second wife was Joan Poucher, Heiress of Drax, West Rasen and Everingham, Yorkshire.
Children of John Villiers and Elizabeth Southill
John and Elizabeth were the parents of a large family which included six sons. Their eldest son was John who married Agnes Digby. Their second son, Thomas died in 1491 and was the father of Thomas Villiers, clerk, noted in 1540. Christopher Villiers, esquire, died without heirs. He lived at Burstal and held the manors of Kilby, Cowdon Magna, and Harborough in Leicestershire. His heirs were his nephews John, William, George and Thomas Villiers. William Villiers, clerk of Beby, is last mentioned in the will of his brother Thomas. James Villiers and Bartholomew are untraced. A daughter married John Fulnetby, and a daughter Elizabeth married Mr. Brokesby.
Sir John Villiers and Agnes Digby
Sir John Villiers, knight, married Agnes the daughter of John Digby of Coleshill, Warwickshire. (See Digby Family) In 1487, John fought against the Earl of Lincoln on behalf of the King at the battle of Stoke, near Newark-upon-Trent. He was Esquire for the body to the King in the 6th year of Henry VII. He also served as sheriff of Lincolnshire and Warwickshire and was made Knight of the Bath in 1501. He was among the servers at the marriage dinner of Princess Margaret to James IV of Scotland. John succeeded his grandfather, as his father had died earlier. John died in 1506 leaving his daughter Winifred and seven sons in this order: Sir John, George, Thomas, William, Edward, Leonard, Bartholomew, and Anthony.
Winifred Villierstheir daughter inherited lands for her life. Thomas Villiers was the father of one daughter, Dorothy, wife of William Smith. Leonard and Bartholomew did not leave any children. Anthony the youngest son was of Cotness, and died possessing that manor in 1547.
Sir John Villiers, the eldest son, married Elizabeth, daughter of John Winger, and they had a daughter, Dorothy who married Francis Browne. He wrote his will on May 24th, 1544 in anticipation of his going into France for the King’s wars against the French King. He had entailed his estates male and so he divided his estate between his brothers, Edward, Thomas, William and George, and his daughter Dorothy. Dorothy received Fulnethy, Lessington, Newbell, and Swinthorpe in Lincolnshire, and the manor of Covenham in Lincolnshire. To his illegitimate son John Twyford he left a life estate in the manor of Burstal.
George Villiers, as the eldest inherited Brokesby and Howby, as well as the advowsons and the manor of Siwolby, and the manor of Burstal, upon the death of John Villers, alias Twyford. George died August 29, 1538. He married Joan, daughter of Henry Harrington, esquire. Their son Richard, who was 3 at the death of his father, died in 1558 without heirs. His brother, George also died without heirs. Their sister Elizabeth married Edward Waterhouse, of Leeds, Kent, knight and inherited from her brother Richard upon his death.
William Villiers of Brokesby and Howby, esquire, inherited upon the death of his nephew Richard in 1558. He married Collet, daughter and heir of Richard Clerke, esquire, the relict of Richard Beaumont of Cole Orton, esquire. They were the parents of:
Sir George Villiers of Brokesby and Howby, knight who was 14 when his father died. George married Audrey, daughter of William Saunders of Harington, Northamptonshire, and after her death in 1587, he married Lady Mary Compton, countess of Buckingham, and daughter of Anthony Beaumont, 7th son of William Beaumont of Cole Orton. Audrey was the mother of Sir William Villiers of Brokesby, knight, Elizabeth, Ann, Frances, and Sir Edward Villiers. Sir William died in June, 1629. He married first, Anne daughter of Edward Griffin of Dingley, Northamptonshire, esquire, then Anne, widow of Henry Cave, and daughter of Richard Fynes, Lord Say and Seale; Rebecca, daughter of Robert Ropert. Anne Fynes was the mother of his children. Sir Edward Villiers, knight was president of Munster in Ireland.
Lady Mary Compton was the mother of Sir John Villiers, knight, baron of Stoke and Viscount Purbeck; George Villiers, Duke of Buckingham who married in 1626 Lady Catharine Manners, daughter and sole heir of Francis, baron Ros of Hamlake, Trusbut, and Belvoir, and earl of Rutland; Christopher Villiers, earl of Anglesey and baron of Daventry; and Lady Susan Villiers, who married Sir William Fielding, earl of Denbigh. (Note: see Aylestone for further information on Manners, earl of Rutland. See the Mason Family for more regarding notorious George Villiers, Duke of Buckingham.)
Sir John Villiers, the eldest son of Mary Compton, reached an agreement with Lord Coke to marry his younger daughter. However, Lord Coke failed to get the agreement of his wife or daughter. The mother carried her daughter away to lady Withipoles, then to Lord Argyles, at Hampton Court. Lord Coke obtained a warrant for custody of his daughter, and broke down the doors, taking her out with his wife in pursuit. The daughter was delivered to Lady Compton’s estate. The council convened and determined that the daughter should remain at Hatton House with the Lady Compton and Sir John Villiers for the purpose of giving her an opportunity to change her feelings. The King gave the bride away at their marriage at Hampton Court. Edward Villiers,esquire of Flore (Flower) and Houthorp, Northamptonshire, died in June, 1514. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. Wake, then Joan, daughter of Thomas Roos, of Sowesby, Lincolnshire. Elizabeth was the mother of Anthony Villiers of Dowsby and of Groby. He married Elizabeth, daughter of John Lane of Kettering, Northamptonshire, gentleman, and died in the first year of Edward VI. Joan was the mother of Clement Villiers of Houthorp, who married Jane, daughter of Edward Saunders, knight and chief baron of the Exchequer.
Thomas Nevill de Holt
Nevill-Holt manor house attached to St. Mary’s church, on right is the 16th Century Stable
Thomas Nevill of Holt
Thomas Nevill de Holt was born in 1456 as he was noted as 42 in 1498. He was the son of William Nevill, Esquire and Catherine Palmer, daughter of Thomas Palmer and Elizabeth Bishopsden. They held the manor of Lubenham in 1450. Thomas married Isabel Griffen, in July, 1472 at Braybrooke in Northamptonshire. He was 15 years old. Their marriage settlement was dated April, 1472. Nicholas Griffen, Esquire de jure 8th Lord Latimer, of Braybook, Northamptonshire and his second wife, Katherine, daughter of Richard Curzon were Isabel Griffen’s parents.
Thomas Nevill held property in Holt, Drayton, and Medbourne, Leicestershire, Thornton, Warwickshire, Pickhill, Roxby, Atlow Cowton, Yarnwick, Little Fencote, and Redeham, Yorkshire. Thomas and Isabel were the parents of: William, Thomas, Humphrey, John (clerk), Robert, and Francis as well as daughters Audrey, Ursula, and Dorothy who were unmarried at the time of their father’s death in 1497, as he left ₤10 dower for each of his three daughters. Dorothy married William Farnham. The will of Thomas Nevill, Esquire, was filed March 31, 1503 (PCC 27 Blamyr). Isabel died January 18, 1513/14 (Leicester Probate court) requesting burial in the chapel of our Lady within the monastery of Laund.
Ursula, daughter of Thomas Nevill of Holt, married John Gee.
Thomas and Isabel’s eldest son, William, married Eleanor Lacy and died in 1516 seized of the manor of Holt. Their second son, Thomas married Alice Wauton. Thomas held estates at Cotterstock and Cottingham, Northamptonshire. Alice was the daughter of Wauton of Basmead, Bedfordshire. They had two daughters: Jane who married William Chambelain alias Spicer of Normanton-on-Soar, Nottinghamshire; and Anne who married John Saint John, knight of Bletsoe and Keysoe, Bedfordshire.
William Nevill and Eleanor Lacy
William Nevill married Eleanor Lacy, the daughter of Thomas Lacy and a Neville. They were married about 1500 at Rolleston in Nottinghamshire. William and Eleanor were the parents of Mary and Sir Thomas Nevill of Holt, knight.
Sir Thomas Nevill, knight of Holt, was excheater in 1522, where he oversaw the settlement of estates. He was High Sheriff in 1539, 1552, and 1561. Sir Thomas Nevill of Holt married Clara Nevill about 1527 at Thornton Bridge, Yorkshire. Clara was the eldest daughter and co-heiress of Ralph Nevill, Esquire of Thornton Bridge, whose wife was descended from Ralph Nevill, Lord of Raby and Middleham. She was born about 1508 at Thornton Bridge.
Sir Thomas Neville and Clara were the parents of Mary (Margaret) Neville who married Thomas Smythe about 1554 and Francis Nevill. Sir Thomas Nevill married secondly to Catherine Foljambe, and his third wife was Margaret Danvers, daughter of John Danvers and Anne Stradling. She was the widow of Edward Fiennes, called Lord Say and Sele, who died in 1529. Sir Thomas left no legitimate sons who survived him.
Thomas Smyth, Esquire, of Cressing Emple, Essex, was the second son of Sir John Smyth, Baron of the Exchequer, in the 15th year of Henry VIII. He took the surname of Nevill, and inherited the estates of Sir Thomas, except for the life estate left to Blount Nevill, an illegitimate son whose mother was Lucy Starcsmore.
Margaret and Thomas were the parents of William Nevill and Humphrey Nevill. Humphrey married Lucy Staresmore and then Frances Pigot, daughter of Thomas Pigot and Marie Lane, of Buckinghamshire. It is stated that Frances Pigot took as her second husband, Sir Thomas Pope Blount, knight of Tittenhanger, Hertfordshire who inherited the estate of Sir Thomas Pope in 1593.
Ancestors of Thomas Nevill of Holt
Thomas de Nevill was born in 1300 in Rolleston, Nottinghamshire and he died in 1368. His father was Jollan and his mother was Margaret Fitting of Pickhill, Yorkshire. He married Cicely Blanchminster a daughter of Ralph Blanchminster in 1329 at Binhamy Castle, Stratton in Cornwall. Their children were Ralph de Nevill born in 1330 and William de Nevill born in 1334 at Rolleston, in Nottinghamshire. William married Elizabeth Fencote daughter of Thomas Fencote about 1360 at Rolleston.
William and Elizabeth were the parents of Robert Nevill who married Alice Langford, daughter of Nicholas de Langford about 1385. Sir Robert Nevill, knight held estates in Rolleston, Nottinghamshire; Sutton, Lincolnshire; Pickhill, Roxby in Pickill and Yarnwick in Kiklington, Yorkshire. He was esquire for the body of King Henry V. His arms were Gules, on saltire argent a mullet sable. Robert died between 1423 and 1428.
Robert Nevill and Alice Langford were the parents of: Isabella Neville who married Robert Woodford in 1403; Thomas Neville who married Elizabeth Babington the daughter of William Babington and Margery Martell in 1417; and William Neville who married Elizabeth Barker about 1416 of South Leverton, Nottinghamshire.
Thomas Nevill of Rolleston, Nottinghamshire
Thomas Neville and Elizabeth Babington were the parents of twelve children: Their daughters were Maud, Margaret, Elizabeth who married William Mering, Catherine, Alice who married Gervase Clifton, and their daughter Margaret married Sir Thomas Blount. They also had two unnamed daughters. Their sons were William Neville of Holt; Thomas, Roger, John. William Neville of Holt married Catherine Palmer about 1452. William and Catherine were the parents of Mary, William, and Thomas Neville of Holt. William’s second wife was Joan Frauncys daughter of John Frauncys and Isabel Plessyntong. They were married about 1457. William died September 16, 1497.
William Nevill of South Leverton, Nottinghamshire
Another pedigree states: Sir William Nevile of South Leverton, Nottinghamshire Henry IV: father of Thomas Nevile of South Leverton who married Isabel daughter of Richard Griffin of Braybrook: whose son was William Nevile: whose son was Alexander Nevile of South Leverton whose will was filed in 1534 noting Robert, Thomas, Alexander, Humphry, Elizabeth and Richard.
William Neville acquired the South Leverton estate through his marriage to Elizabeth Barker. William and Elizabeth were the parents of George Nevill of Ragnall; William Nevill, who was born in 1424; and Thomas Nevill who married a Lewis about 1458 at Hedon in Nottinghamshire.
Thomas Nevill and Miss Lewis were the parents of Alexander Nevill who married Dorothy Eyre of Derbyshire, William Neville, Humphrey, and Robert. Thomas died about 1480. His wife evidently was the same Blanche who filed suit against son William and son and heir, Alexander Neville in 1501. William Neville evidently was the father of Alexander Nevile whose will was filed in 1534 noting children Robert, Thomas, Alexander, Humphrey, Elizabeth and Richard.
Alexander and Dorothy were the parents of Sir Anthony Nevill, Robert Nevill, Humphrey Nevill, Alexander Nevill, and Richard Nevill. Anthony Nevill married Maria Zouche about 1519, then Elizabeth Zouche. His third wife was Anne Borough. Anthony was the father of Alexander and George Nevill. Richard Nevill, his brother, married Anne Mantell daughter of Walter Mantell of Heyford, Northamptonshire and his wife Margaret Wood. Richard and Margaret were the parents of Thomas Nevill dean of Canterbury who was born in 1541; Alexander, a scholar; Margaret; Anne; Catherine; and Judith.
George Nevill of Ragnall, Nottinghamshire married Isabel (Mabel) Croft daughter of John Croft of Ragnall. They were the parents of: Isabella who married William Clerkson; William Nevill who married Elizabeth Mansfield and was the father of George Nevill who married Elizabeth Cooke, daughter of John Cooke of Fledborough, Nottinghamshire; Alexander Nevill; George Nevill whose son William was born in 1472; Robert Neville who married Joan Woodford, daughter of Ralph Woodford and Joan Villiers in 1475 at Ashby Folville, Leicestershire; Catherine who married Peter Staynford; Thomas Nevill, born in 1454; Andrew Nevill, born in 1456; and John Nevill, born in 1458. Robert Nevill and Joan Woodford were the parents of Andrew; Edith who married Anthony Staunton; Elizabeth I who married Thomas Digby; Anne who married George Eyre; Elizabeth II who married Robert Beckingham, and John, born in 1484.
Family of Thomas Woodford
It would appear that Thomas Woodford, a grandson son of Ralph Woodford was the husband of Margaret Gee, daughter of John Gee and Ursula Nevill.
By examining the early record of this family it becomes clear that the Nevills and Villiers were related, as were the Sherrards and the Folvilles. By the end of the 15th century the family estates passed out of the Woodford name through Margaret Woodford, heir, and became vested in the Morton family. It was about this time that Mistress Gee married Thomas Woodford, a descendent of one of the younger sons of this family.
At Ouston are several Woodford Arms: Woodford impaling Villers; Woodford impailing Nevill de Holt: Gules, a saltire Ermine, Woodford impaling Brabazon;
Arms: Woodford impalling Prest: Ermine, a Talbot passant Sable. His death was noted in the inquisition post mortem, in the 2nd year of Richard II, is this notation: Wilts Woodford ten’ in dominico suo man’ Sproxton, cum pertin’, de dno principe, per fer militiri, ut de honore de Huntingdon. This states that Woodford of Wiltshire held in his domain the manor of Sproxton, with appurtenances, of the lord the prince, for militari service and honor at Huntington.
Woodford Arms: Quarterly, Woodford and Prest; impaling Folvile.
Woodford, arms: Quarterly Woodford, Prest, Folvile; impaling, Gules, on a bend Or, three martlets Sable, Brabazon.
Woodford Arms: Quarterly, Woodford, Prest, Folvile, and Brabazon; impaling Argetn, fretty Gules, on every joint a bezant Or, Trussel.
Ralph Woodford, Esquire
Ralph Woodford, esquire of Ashby Follvile and his wife, Elizabeth Villiers, were the parents of: William, Matthew, John, Robert and Thomas. It was most certainly a grandson of one of these who married Margaret Gee.
William Woodford married Ann daughter of Simon Norwich, esquire of Brampton, Northamptonshire. Their daughter Margaret was his heir and married Thomas Morton as her last husband. Their son John Morton inherited the Woodford estates. Thomas Morton was the nephew of the Archbishop of Canterbury, and he possessed when he died, Ashby Folvile, Garthorp, and Sproxton. These were inherited by John Morton.
Matthew Woodford married Lucy, daughter of William Brokesy of Leicester. He died without heirs.
John Woodford married first Melicent, daughter of Thomas Markham, esquire in the 15th year of Henry VII, then Mary, daughter of John Jerningham of Suffolk. Their sons were John, Stephen and William.
Robert Woodford married in 1489 Alice, the daughter of Thomas Gate of Brightwell, Burnham, Berkshire.
Thomas married Jane (Joan), first the wife of a Nevill, of Ragnell, Nottinghamshire.
Robert and Alice Woodford were the parents of Thomas, Edward, Christopher and William. Thomas married Elizabeth daughter of Richard Blount, knight. They were the parents of James, Gamaliel, Thomas, Robert, Anna, Elizabeth, Ursula, Dorothy, Sibyl, Cecilia, Susanna, and Alice. James Woodford married Katherine daughter and heir of Thomas Rede, knight. Their children were Robert who married Ursula Colt, Edward, Jana, Anna, Mabel, and Ursula. Robert Woodford was the father of James, William, Maria, Katherine, and Elizabeth.
Ancestors of Ralph Woodford
John de Wodeford married Alice daughter of Walter Preste, (Preest) knight. Her sister, Lettice Preste married James de Bellers. The will of Alice, daughter of Walter Preest of Melton, and wife to John de Wodeford of Brentingby was proved in 1333. John de Wodeford was the first documented in Leicestershire. Walter Preste gave to John Woodford a messuage with appurtenances in Melton Mowbray. In Melton Mowbray, Walter Preste and his father, Walter, were wealthy sheep merchants. Walter St. was the wealthiest citizen of Melton Mowbray, aside from the lord of the manor. The Prestes disappeared after the plague in 1362. John son of Walter Preste of Melton Mowbray was noted in a demand in 1338 for a messuage and land in Brentingby, and later there is a claim by John against Thomas de Newell regarding this land. In 1349, John Woodford witnessed a deed in which Walter Preste transferred his lands in Melton Mowbray and his property in Scalford to John Walker and John de Conbrigge of Melton Mowbray.
John of Woodford purchased the manor of Brentingby in 1313 from John Nevil, knight. The arms of this manor were sable to the field, and three fleur de lis silver, returned into three leopards heads of gules. John of Woodford served at Calais and at the battle of Poytiers. In 1330 it is noted that John Woodford, Master of St. John’s Hospital, held lands at Castle Donington. John and Alice had two sons: Walter, who died young; William de Woodeford, their heir.
William de Woodford, was a lawyer, and added the manors of Wyfordby and Knyptons as well as Sproxton and Garthorpe through his marriage with Joan (Jenet), the daughter of John Brabazon of Eastwell and Sproxton. William died in 1378. Her cousin was John le Brabazon of Mosely and Eastwell who married a Harcourt. Their son, Nicolas le Brabazon of Eastwell (23 Henry VI) married an unidentified daughter and heir of Hauberk. Their son, John le Brabazon of Eastwell, slain at Bosworth Field, married Matilda, daughter of Nicolas Jervis of Harby, Leicestershire. William de Woodford obtained additional land in Stapleford, Knossington, Burto Lazars, and the manor of Wyfordby.
William de Woodeford and Joan were the parents of John Woodford and several daughters. John was only 11 when his father died. He became Escheator. His birth is documented as being in 1358. He married Mabel Folville granddaughter of John de Folville and the daughter and heir of Geoffrey de Folvylle. John de Folville was the father of John, Eustace, Laurence, Richard, Robert, Thomas and Walter, all born before his death in 1310. John, inherited Ashby Folville and the remaining brothers were involved in various attacks on their neighbors. They were accused of the murder of Roger Belers, the king’s justice, in 1326. Geoffrey de Folville, heir of John, married Mabel Tilney and inherited Ashby Folville. Geoffrey died before 1370. His daughter, Mabel, married John Woodford, and they came into possession of Ashby Folville and Newbold Folville. John Woodford was Justice in Leicestershire.
John de Woodford and Mabel were the parents of Robert de Woodford who wrote down their family history. They were also the parents of Joan, who married Sir Lawrence Berkeley of Wymondham. Robert was born about 1385, and his father died in 1401 before Robert reached his majority.
Sir Robert Woodford married Isabella Nevill, a daughter of William Nevill, lord of Rolleston. It is noted in the pedigree of Nevill that on the day of the marriage of Sir Robert Woodford, and Isabel his wife, at Rollerston, on Saturday May 5, 1403, the said Mabell of Woodford delivered to the said Sir William Nevyll lands and tenements, rents and services, to the value truly extended 40 marks yearly over the reprise, for the sustenance and the array of the said Robert and Isabel, to have and to hold the aforesaid lands and tenements, rents and services, to the said Sir William Nevill and dame Elizabeth his wife, and to their executors, to the time that the said Sir Robert come to pleyn age. (The History and Antiquities of the county of Leicester: Vol. 3, Part 1, p. 25: Nicols)
Sir Robert Woodford fought at Agincourt and was knighted on the field by Henry V. He died in 1455. His eldest son, Thomas, married Alice Berkeley, his cousin. Her mother was Joan Woodeford, sister to Sir Robert, who married Sir Laurence Berkeley. Thomas died before his father leaving a son, Ralph.
In 1447, Robert Woodford filed against William Villiers, of Brooksby, Esq. for the abduction of Ralph Woodeford, his grandson and heir Ralph, born in 1430, was found at Brooksby. Ralph had married Elizabeth Villiers, the daughter of William Villiers of Brooksby and Agnes Bellers, against his grandfather’s wishes. Sir Robert contrived to disinherit Ralph, by deeding his holdings to his other living sons. But, as Robert Woodford, son of Ralph testified, his father secured the entail deed and therefore was able to thwart his grandfather’s plan. The attempt is documented below.
Sir Robert in 1447, being seised of the manors of Brentingby, Wyverdby, Garthorpe, Sproxton, and Newbold Folvile, with 62 messuages, 60 tofts, and 2 mills there, with the advowson of the church of Wyverdby, Leicester; as also of three messuages, in Eston and Stoke, Lincolnshire; and likewise of 46 acres of land in Wygenhale and Tylney, Norfol; gave, by a fine levied for tha purpose, the manor of Newbold Folvile, with 2 messuages, 7 tofts, and 5 birgates of land there, to Walter Wodford his second (surviving) son, the manors of Brentingby and Wyverdby, with 28 messuages there, to Humphrey Wodford, his third son; 16 messuages, 4 tofts, 2 virgates, in Knipton, to Ralph Wodeford his fourth son; tha manor of Garthorpe, 6 messuages, 6 tofts, 7 virgates, 1 carucate, 10 acres of meadow, and the rent of one race of ginger, in Garthorpe, to John Wodford, junior, his fifth son; with remainder to John Wodford senior, his eldest son, in tail; with remainder to Walter, Humphrey, Ralph, and John Wodford, junior, in post-tail, and to their heirs male; with remainder to their heirs; with remainder to Mabell, the wife of Simon Herdeby; Elizabeth, the wife of Robert Hill, Beatrice and Margaret, his daughters, in tail; with remainder to Joan, the wife of Sir Laurence Berkly, knight; Agnes the wife of Thomas Chetwod, knight; and Isabel, late the wife of Laurence Sherrard; and to the heirs of the said Joan, Agnes, and Isabel, in tail; with remainder to the right heirs of him the said Sir Robert Wodford. (Ibid.)
Ralph Woodford died in 1498, noting his first wife, Elizabeth Villiers, and his second wife, Margaret. Elizabeth was the mother of WilliamWoodford who married Anne Norwich of Brampton Northamptonshire. He inherited most of Ralph’s lands which passed to his daughter Margaret and then out of the family. Ralph’s younger sons were Robert, who married Alice Gates, Thomas, who married Jane Neville, Mathew, and John who married Millicent Markham, then Mary Jerningham. John and William Woodford remainded in Leicestershire. John resided at Ashby Folville, where he was taxed in 1524. By 1526 he was residing at Rothley where he purchased a messuage and 20 acres of land in Barsby.
William Woodeford died in 1487, possessing the manores of Brantyngby, Wyfordby, Frethby, and Garthorp, worth £20 per year. He was a retainer of William Hastings. Also noted in the records is John Woodford, a feed man of Edward Hastings, son of William Hastings. It is likely this was William Woodford’s younger brother. Thomas Woodeford, son of their brother, Robert, married Elizabeth Blount.
The Hauberk Family
In Old French, halberc or hauberk was a coat of ringed mail and referred to someone who wore or made a hauberk. The older form was halberc, hal referring to the neck and bergan or perkan to protect or hide. A fief de Haubert is an 11th century French term which is similar to a Knight’s Fee, and was derived from the coat of mail, the hauberk. A fief de Haubert, required every tenant to own a haubert and go to war when needed. A Fief de Haubert meant that only persons who had this estate or a greater estate were allowed to wear hauberks.
The Patronymica Britannica: A dictionary of the family names of the United Kingdom by Mark Antony Lower states:
Hawberk. The ancient family of Hawberk of Stapleford, who became extinct in the XV Century, was sometimes written Howbeck, which strongly suggests a local derivation. It is, however, quite as probable that the name was derived from the Norman hauberk, a coat of mail. …The arms of the family comprise three annulets conjoined, which may possibly refer to the ringed mail of which a hauberk was composed. Sir Egerton Brydges, writing to a descendant of the family, says: And now about hauberk. I must be allowed a moment’s poetical play. I have found out that the designers of their arms were bards and prophets; that they had a prophet’s eye, a poet’s fire, and that they anticipated by six centuries Gray’s Welsh Bard. Have you forgot… Helm nor Hawberk’s twisted mail? Are not the knots of rings on the shield the identical twisted mail? Genealogical History of the family of Brabazon. Appendix G.
Arms: Argent, on a bend, Sable, three knots of rings, Or. (As portrayed in Nichols)
Ere the ruddy sun be set
Pikes must shiver, javelins sing,
Blade with clattering buckler meet,
Hauberk crash, and helmet ring. _Gray
The records also include Haubert, Hawbert, Howbert, Howberk, Hawberke and Hubert, (Nichols) as well as Haubergh, Hawberd (Burton) and in the Visitation of 1580 it is given as Huberk, and in the Visitation of 1619 it is given as Hawbark and Hubarke but is referenced as Hauberk. In the 1580 Visitation the name is spelled Hubeck and Huberk. In A Dictionary of the Norman or Old French Language it is also referenced to Hawberg.
Based on the records and comparing the various pedigrees given in Nichols, the 1580 and 1619 Visitation, and collateral families’ pedigrees, I have developed this limited descendency for John Hauberk, esquire. I am certain there are errors, but it more accurately reflects the information I have found in the calendar rolls. Nichols spells the name Hawberk, and Hauberk, but the Calendar Rolls of Edward I, Edward II, Richard II and Henry IV spell it Hauberk and Haubert in one instance, so I will use this spelling. The Hauberks of Leicestershire held lands in Scalford, Stapleford, Saxby, Grimston, in the parish of Rothley, adjacent to Melton Mowbray, Heredby, Wycham, Strethern, as well as lands in Teigh (Ashwell) and Barrow adjacent to Oakham in Rutland. By the middle of the 14th century they were a wealthy and influential family, but lost everything by the beginning of the next century, and drop from the records.
Stapleford, in northern Leicestershire, lies across the road from Rutland in the south, Linconshire is five miles to the east, and Nottinghamshire is ten miles to the north-west. Melton Mowbray is nearby. The township lies on the bank of the rier Eyre. In Domesday it was Henry Ferrers who then lord of the manor. His family held the home for several generations. In the reign of Henry IV, the manor transferred from the Hawberks to the Sherrards.
The Family of John Hauberk of Scaldeforde
Scalford is variously Shaldeforde, Scaldeforde, and Schaldeforde. In 1303 William Revell was granted a free warren and market fair. The lordship passed from the Revell family to the Hauberks. It is stated that it belonged to William de Hawberke. It remained in their hands until Agnes, the daughter and heir of Laurence Hauberk married Sir Hugh de Calveley, of Calveley in Cheshire. As her second husband, Agnes married Robert Sherrard. Upon her death, the Sherrards and Calveleys divided her lands.
Among the land holders in Scalford were the Segrave, Beler, and Willoughby families. In 1305 Roger Beler, deceased, and Alice, his wife held 11 shillings in rents of Simon Hauberk. In 1366 Alice late the wife of Sir Roger Beler, and Roger, his son, granted a lease of their lands in Grimston, Leicestershire to Laurence Hauberk, and Alice his wife. In 1380, Roger Beler and Margaret, his wife held 3 shillings and 4 pence rents. In 1391 Maria, wife of Roger Beler, who was the widow of John St. Clere (Clair) held 3 shillings, 3 pence rents at Scalford. In 1359 Geoffrey Segrave was given an 80 year lease on the abbey of Leicester at Scalford. In 1426 Elizabeth Houby wife of Thomas Segrave of Scaldeford gave the Segrave pedigree as: John de Segrave, Knight father of Stephen, father of John, father of Elizabeth who married Thomas de Kirkeby and were the parents of John Kirkeby, the Earl Marshal.
Simon Hauberk was lord of Scalford manor, as it appears by a deed without date. Simon Hauberk was a witness to the patent of Roger Beler for his letters patent ganting the lands, tenements, and rents in Kirkesby, and his manor of Bukemynstre and the advowson of the church of Kirkeby to the warden and chaplains of St. Peter, Kirkeby upon Wrethek, Leicester. At Kennington, Simon Hauberk was taxed 17₤ 2s. 9d. for two sacks and twenty-four stones of wool. At the same time, Alice Beler was also taxed. In 1308 Simon Hauberk of Scalford was noted as the creditor to William de Loudham, staying at Kettleby, and Richard, the son of Richard de Claxton, for 1 sack of wool, worth ₤7. The witnesses were John le Palmer, Mayor of Nottingham and John, son of Lawrence Ingram, clerk.
Simon Hauberk was the father of Robert Hauberk, lord of the manor of Scalford, proved by a deed without date. Robert Hauberk was the father of William Hauberk, lord of the manor of Scalford. In 1309, William Hauberk was given power of attorney, with John de Doncaster by Ralph de Dalton, clerk, as Ralph was going overseas on business for Hugh de Everesdon, abbot elect of St. Albans. He witnessed a release from Ralh son of Ralph Gilbert’s son, to Sir John of Ayleston chaplain. In 1325, William Hauberk with others stood surety, mainpernors, for Robert le Palmer, who was given a pardon for homicides, robberies, and his outlawry, if he went into the king’s service, and continued to behave after he returned. William Hauberk of Scalford was murdered in June, 1327 by William le Blake. In the evening an argument erupted and was carried outside into the street where they continued to argue and call each other disgusting names, whereupon, William le Blake took out a knife and mortally stabbed William Hauberk in the heart, killing him instantly. William le Blake was a clerk (cleric).
William Hauberk, evidently a son, inherited the manor of Scalford. In 1331 the abbot and convent of Croxton was given a pardon for entering upon lands which included a messuage and a virgate of land in Sharnesford acquired from William Hauberk. William in 1335 witnessed a deed by John de Segrave, knight, lord of Segrave and Croxton Abbey. In 1336 it is noted that William Hauberk had deeded a messuage and virgate of land in Sharnesford to the abbot and convent of Croxton, Leicestershire.
Abbas & Convent’ de Croxton Adquisiverunt de Will’o Hauberk et Alijs
Sharneford 1 mess’ 1 virg’ terre
Coston 1 toft 34 acr’ terre
Fenne juxta Freston 1 toft 4 acr’ terre 1 acr’ prat’
William was the father of Simon Hauberk, lord of Scalford. Simon Hauberk, of Scalford was the father of sons: Robert, Gervas, and Hugh, who was lord of Scalford and the eldest son.
In 1327 the Lay Subsidy Roll for Scaldeford, Leicestershire includes: Richard Hauberk 4 shillings; Robert Hauberk 4 shillings; Simon Hauberk 10 shillings. At Long Clawson (Clayton) was William Hauberk 5 shillings.
Robert Hauberk, son of Simon of Scaldeford
In 1325 Robert son of Simon Hauberk of Leicestershire, with Laurence de Grimston (likely his cousin Laurence Hauberk of Grymston) stood surety for John de Tilton who received a pardon for homicides, robberies and his outlawry, upon his promise to go in the king’s service and do right afterward. 1326 brought an order to arrest a large group of gentry in Leicestershre in connection with the death of Roger Beler in Leicester. The men ordered to be brought before Henry de Lancastre, earl of Leicester, and his fellow justices of oyer and terminer were Robert son of Simon Hauberk of Scaldford, Ralph son of Roger la Zousch of Lubesthorp, Eustace de Folevill, Robert de Folevill, his brother, Walter his brother, Adam de Barley, William de Barkeston of Bitham, Roger la Zousch, son of Roger la Zousch lord of Lubesthorp, Ivo son of William la Zousch of Haryngworth, knight, Robert de Helewell, knight, and Richard de Folefil (Foleville), parson of the church of Ty. This is an impressive list a gentry in Leicestershire.
The murder of Lord Roger Beler
Eustace de Folville, of Ashby Folville, his two brothers, and Eudo de la Zouch, of Harynzworth, after being threatened by Lord Roger Beler, one of the justices, attacked and murdered the judge in a valley near Reresby on his way from Kirkeby to Leicester. Sir Roger de Belers, knight was baron of the exchequer under Edward II. The justice, whose wife was Alice, was succeeded by his son Sir Roger Beler who was a child when his father was killed. It should be noted that Sir Ralph Belers, married Emma, daughter of Sir Walter de Folville. The Folvilles also held an estate in Midlewiche, Cheshire. Thoms Folville of this family was servant to William Cicell, Lord Burghley.
Edmund de Assheby, sheriff of Leicester, was appointed to pursue and arrest Thomas de Folefill (sic) charged with aiding in the escape from England of Ralph, son of Roger la Zousche of Lubesthorp, and Eustace de Folevill, as well as others who were indicted in the death of Roger Beler. That same year, the king offered a pardon to all for felonies, outlawries, adherence to rebels, if they joined in arms against the king’s enemies. Excepted from this pardon were those guilty of the death of Roger Beler. It is likely that Robert son of Simon Hauberk of Scaldeford was exhonerated as there is no mention of his lands being confiscated by the king, as were the lands of the de Foleville brothers.
In 1328 a commission of oyer and terminer was given at York to Richard de Wylughby (Willoughby), John Daungevill and John de Wittlebury, on complaint by Robert son of John de Folevill that Richard de Whatton, Robert his son, Roger de Whatton, John Beaufey, knight, Master Robert de Bridlington, John Fraunceys of Osmundeston, William de Holewell of Gaddesby, Richard, his brother, Richard Aleys, Henry Donewold, John his brother, John de Stanford, Robert servaunt de Gaddesby, Ralph Knot, Adam de Stokton, Robert Hauberk the elder, Simon Hauberk, Henry son of William le Reve of Gaddesby, Alan son of William son of Reginald, Richard de Brokesby, and others, assaulted him at Neubold by the hamlet of Assheby Folevill, Leicester, and carried away his goods.
In 1343, Master John de Langetoft, parson of the church of Herdeby filed a complaint that Robert, son of Simon Hauberk of Scladeford, Germanus (Gervas) son of Simon Hauberk of Scaldeford and others broke his close and houses at Herdeby, assaulted and imprisoned him, and carried away his goods after assaulting his men and servant.
This was followed by a like complaint by Robert Hauberk that Langetoft and his brother assaulted him at Herdeby, imprisoning him and carrying away a horse worth 10₤ and his goods. The complaint of Lagetoft was filed again in 1344, adding that he had been wounded nearly causing his death, his close and houses were broken into, his goods carried away, and his men and servants assaulted and imprisioned so that they could not provide service for some time. The commission of oyer and terminer was give to John de Tiptoft, Richard de Wylughby (Willoughby), Giles de Meynill, Payn de Vilers and Robert de Gaddesby.
In another commison of oyer and terminer in 1343 formed by Henry de Ferariis (Ferrars), Roger Hillary, Roger de Baukwell, John de Folville of Assheby, and John Waleys, on the complaint by Robert son of Simon Hauberk of Scaldeford that John de Langetoft, parson of the church of Herdeby, Robert his brother, and others assaulted him at Herdeby, imprisoned him, took away a horse valued at 10₤ and carried away his goods.
Gervas (German) Hauberk, son of Simon of Scaldeford
Gervas, of Heredby, was the father of Robert Hauberk, outlaw, Simon Hauberk, Richard Hauberk, clerk and Laurence Hauberk of Grymston, who was murdered in 1348. He was also the father of John Hauberk, clerk and a second son who was younger and also named Robert. (see the will of John Hauberk, prebend, who may have been illegitimate.)
Robert Hauberk outlawed, son of Gervas Hauberk
Robert Hauberk of Grymston was noted as early as 1333. It was 1351 when Robert Hauberk, son of Gervas Hauberk of Herdeby, was granted by Sir John Hauberk, Wycham, 5 shillings of silver rent per annum for a bovate of land and a messuage adjoining in Stakthern, next to the messuage of Robert Hauberk of Herdeby. John gave Robert another grant for 5 shillings 6 pence annual rent in Branston from a birgate of land and a messuage with the appurtenances which Robert Godgnave held. The witnesses were John de Schelton of Stakethern; Richard de Langard of Stakethern; Richard Noble, William son of Nicholas, Richard son of Stephen Joy (Gee?) and others.
In 1391, William Salcok, yeoman of the king’s uncle, the duke of Lancaster, was granted for life the lands and tenements, formerly belonging to Robert, son of Gervas Hauberk, in Herdewyk, Leicester which were forfeited for his felony.
Calendarium Inquis’ post Mortem 20 Richard II
Robertus filius Germani Haubert felo et utllagatus.
Herdeby unum messuage et sepetem bovat terr
Statherne 5 s redit
Bauntston 4 s reddit
Kaypton 5 s reddit
In 1396 it is noted in Leicestershire, Inquisition Post Mortem, Vol. III, Leicestershire, that Robert Hauberk, an outlaw, held 1 messuage and 7 bovates in Herdebi (Herdeby) which was 8 miles north of Melton Mowbray. It was noted that Simon Hauberk was the brother and heir of Robert, which would mean that Robert did not leave any children, or any legitimate children. The same Robert Hauberk, an outlaw, held rents at Branston (Branteatone) on 1 virgrate and at Stathern (Scakethorn, Stachedirne, Stakethirne, Stachetone, Stratherne) and 1 virgate for 5s rent at Knipton. It is unclear why he was outlawed.
Simon Hauberk, son of Gervas Hauberk
This Simon was noted in 1396, and there is no further information regarding him.
Laurence Hauberk, murdered, son of Gervas Hauberk
In1338, an inquest was held regarding a disturbance in Holborn and the jurors determined that clerks of the King’s Chancery, namely William de Appelton, Richard Hauberk, Laurence Hauberk, and Richard Fauksos assaulted Richard de Ledrede and Richard le Heyward in their homes, breaking Heyward’s left leg. They drew their swords and resisted arrest, wounding one of the constables. In 1348, Roger Belers and William de Barnesby were appointed to make an inquisition concerning the death of Laurence Hauberk, killed at Grymeston. Laurence evidently had a son, as in the 42nd year of Edward III, 1375, Alice late the wife of Sir Roger Beler and Roger his son to Laurence Hauberk, and Alice his wife a lease, indented, of their lands in Grimston.
It is likely that this is the Laurence Hauberk who married Margaret Sibton of Suffolk. Their daughter Isolda Hawberke was born about 1330 and married Thomas Yonge.
Richard Hauberk, clerk, son of Gervas Hauberk
In 1347, Richard Hauberk, Laurence Hauberk, and others witnessed a deed from the parson of Thurleston church to William de Burgh, clerk and Margery, his sister. Richard was presented in 1347 to the church of Stotesbury, in the diocese of Lincoln, in the king’s gift by reason of the priory of St. Andrew, Northampton. In 1352 the resignation of Richard Hauberk from the church of Shotesbury, diocese of Lincoln, was noted. Richard Hauberk, clerk was owed 10₤ by Peter Mallore, knight in 1352. This was to be levied in Northamptonshire. That same year, William de Burgh, clerk, and Richard Hauberk, clerk, acknowledged a debt to Richard de Thoresby, clerk for 10₤ to be levied in Leicestershire. Sir Richard Hawberk died in 1417.
Sir John Hauberk, Decretorum Doctor, son of Gervas Hauberk
Sir John Hauberk, clerk, evidently was an illegitimate half-brother of Robert Hauberk and had a younger brother Robert Hauberk, who was likely his full brother. In his 1411 will he left bequests to both, thus making him a likely son of Robert or William Hauberk in the line of Hugh Hawberk. His mother was Agnes Wecheharm, who is noted in his will. Wecheharm is a Middle English nickname and there are only a few occurances of the name which appear to be centered in Warwickshire and Gloucestershire. Her name may also be derived from the village of Wykham and the family of Wickham.
John Hauberk of Wykham received a general pardon in 1346 for his good service in the war in France. John served under William de Kildesby. In 1357 Sir John Hauberk of Wykham, knight granted to Sir Thomas Flemmyng, Rector of the church of Berugby (Barrowby, Licestershire) a messuage and two bovates of land at Berugby near Grantham. This document is held in Nottinghamshire and an associated quitclaim is from Sir John Hauberk.
In 1351 John Hauberk, knight, appointed John de Herlaxton of Berughby (Barrowby, Licestershire) as his attorney for livery of seisin to Sir Thomas Fleming parson of the church of Berughby in lands, tenements, rents, etc. in Berughby. In 1382 John Hawberk, clerk was an executor of the will of Henry Petlyng which was proved at Stamford in October.
In 1392 John Howbert, rector of Garthorp, in the diocese of Lincoln, bachelor of canon and civil law, was granted …extension of dispensation on account of illegitimacy to be ordained and hold a benefice even with cure, so that he, who is of knightly (militari) race, may hold two other benefices compatible with Garthorp, and may exchange them for similar of dissimilar mutually compatible benefices. His illegitimacy need not be mentioned in future graces. This clearly was John Hauberk who held a doctorate in canon and civil law. The knightly (militari) race likely indicates he was a member of the Knights of St. John, Hospitallars.
In 1397, Sir John Hauberk, knight, Nicholas Bernak, Sir William Bealassise, and John Pacoun, the younger, granted to William Warde and Stephen Chapman, of Blaithirwyk, the lands in Blathirwyk, Laxton, and Bolewyk which they had of the gift of Alienora, late the wife of William de Walton, widow, Northampton.
In 1399 Master John Hauberk, prebendary of Q. in the collegiate church of St. Mary by Leicester castle, was presented for admission to the church of Holt by Worcester, in the king’s gift by reasong of the judgement against Thomas, Earl of Warwick, in the last Parliament, on an exchange with John Wattes.
The Will of John Hauberk, 1411
Decretorum doctor, rector of Ekton and Barwell, Canon of Lincoln, and Prebendary of Leighton Manor.
On Saturday before the Feast of St. Edward King and Conf. 1410. Intendens Dei mediante gratia ad curiam profisisci. Dated at the Hospitium of Philip, bishop of Lincoln, in London. To be buried where God shall dispose. It notes Agnes Wecheharm my mother. To my elder brother Robert, liberatam meam de panno viridi ac hue non aptam nec facam quam haui ex dono Abbatis et conventus de Burgo S. Petri; also my jacket and double which I bought from William Begworth of Northampton. To Wykham chapel, suppelicium meurn. To Richard, my chaplain illam togam cum capuc’o quam feci e aptavi de liberate mihi data per Abbatem et Convetum de Ramesey. Robert Hauberk my younger brother. The remainder of his wardrobe was to be divided among the sons and daughters of his elder brother Robert, and the son and daughters of Henry Gerneys of Herdby.
He made bequests for repair of vestments at Gerthorp, repair of Ekton and Barewell churches, Hakclyf and Cottusford rectories, and Wyham and Caldewell chapels.
My lands at Northampton, Caldewell, and Gaton to go to the persons limited in carta mea talliata de manerio de Nortoft. (my charter… of the manor of Nortoft. See document below.)
The Executors: His mother Agnes Wecheharm, Mgri. was William Burton, Robert Scharle, his elder brother Robert Hauberk, William Breton clerk, and John Bluet of Som’by. The Supervisor was Philip, bishop of Lincoln. The will was proved at Lidyngton Sept. 28, 1411 and was written in his hand. He added a bequest to Nicholas, son of Henry Gerneys and to Elizabeth Breton, for her marriage.
M. John Hawberk (also Hauberk and Hawbergh) was prebendary of Leighton Manor in the cathedral church of Lincoln from 1405 until his death in 1411.
1401 agreement for the lease of Nortoft in Gildesburgh
The agreement of 1401 is an acknowledgement by Thomas la Warre, clerk, that the manor of Nortoft in Gildesburgh, to be the right of John Hauberk, and grants for himself and his heirs that the manor, which Simon and Robert Lorkyn, held for their lives, of the inheritance of Thomas la Warre, on the day the agreement was made, and which after the decease of Simon and Robert Lorkyn, out to revert to Thomas la Warre and his heirs, after the decease of Simon and Robert Lorkin, should remain to John Hauberk, clerk, Agnes de Scaldford, his mother, and John Wattys and the heirs of John Hauberk, to hold of the chief lords for ever. For this John Haubert, Agnes de Scaldford, and John Wattys gave Thomas la Warre 100 marks of silver. The Agnes de Scaldford was Agnes Weacharm as Agnes Hauberk had died in 1392. The heir of John Hauberk, clerk was his younger brother, Robert.
In March 1521, Robert Belcher of Langport, Northants, gentleman, son and heir of Roger Belcher of Nortofte in Gildesburg, deceased sold to Sir John Spencer of Wormeleyghton, knight all his lands and tenements in Gildesburgh, Nortofte (Nortoft Grange in Guilsborough) Dauyntre (Daventry) and Barby, Northants., formerly belonging to Robert Hawberk of Nortofte and then in the tenure of Henry Worsetter, Thomas Aspland, Edward Barby and Thomas Belch, which lands the said Robert Belcher inherited from his father…. Robert Hawberk, the younger brother of Sir John Hauberk, Clerk, had held and likely resided in Northamptonshire in the lands and tenements in gildeburg, Nortoft Grange, Daventry, and Barby, which were eventually deeded to Robert Belcher.
The line of Sir Hugh Hauberk, knight, son of Simon of Scaldeford
Sir Hugh Hauberk was lord of Scalford. In the Visitation of Cheshire, 1580, it is stated that Sir Hugh Huberk (Hauberk) married a daughter of Sir Thomas Corbet and was the father of Sir Hugh Huberk (Hauberk) who married a daughter of Thomas Bretof (Brestofte). They were the parents of Sir John Huberk, Sir Lawrence Hauberk, of Scalford, and William Hauberk. Sir Hugh married Isabella Verdon, widow of Henry Ferrars, as his second wife.
Sir Laurence Hauberk
Sir Laurence Hauberk married Margaret, daughter of Thomas Attelbury. In 1331, Sir Laurence Hauberk, knight enfeeoffed his manors of Stapleford, Saxby in Leicester and Barrow in Rutland. A fief was the land and the labor of peasants who were bound to cultivate the land, providing income to support the vassal, Sir Laurence Hauberk. In return, the vassal would fight for his lord as a knight. With enfeoffment came dignities, offices, and money rents. Henry de Ferrers was given Stapleford Park by William the Conqueror because of his bravery at the Battle of Hastings. In 1330 John Nevill held the manor which would become known as Haubert manor. In 1358, under John Neville, Laurence Hauberk served in France as an attorney for a year. Also serving was William Hauberk.
In 1344, Laurence Hauberk, with others was appointed to arrest William de Coumbe. In 1354, members of the commission of the peace included John de Folevill, Laurence Hauberk and others. Laurence Hauberk would continue to be a frequent member of the commission of the peace for the following 20 years. In 1356 Laurence Hauberk, Richard de Wylughby (Willoughby), Roger Michel, and John Folevill of Reresby were commissioned to investigate evildoers in Leicester and Nottingham who took 60 sheep belonging to John Bluet, and those at Briggeford by Nottingham who had purchased the sheep with the knowledge they were stolen.
Sir Laurence Hauberk and his wife, Margaret Attelbury, were the parents of Robert Hauberk, lord of Scalford, who married Agnes Barnack, William Hauberk who married Sibile, and Laurence Hauberk of Rutland. Agnes was the daughter and heir of Walter Barnack. Her grandfather was Sir William de Woodford of Sproxton. She was also related to Margaret Barnack (Bernake), daughter of Nicholas Bernake of Nottingham, who married Sir James Belers as his second wife. She was also the sister of Jone Barnack, wife of Sir Henry Huberk.
In the Calendar of Close Rolls, October 5, 1354 is an enrollment made by John, son of Walter de Houby, knight, to the warden and chaplains of the chapel of St. Peter of Kirkeby on Wreke, of all his right and claim in the manor of Kirkeby, and in all the lands, rents and services which belonged to Maud, late the wife of Gilbert de Houby, in Kirkeby, and in the advowson of Kirkeby church …. The witnesses were John de Folville, Matthew de Folville, John de Brabazon, knights, James Beler, Laurence Hauberk, Robert Hauberk, and Ralph de Freseby.
In 1370 William Hauberk granted to Robert Adinet de Segrave and Emma, his wife, a messuage in Kirkeby super Wrethek for their life, after which it was to be returned to William or his heirs. The rent was a yearly rose at the Nativity of St John the Baptist and doing to the chief lords all other services. William married Sibile. It is possible that they were the parents of William Hauberk, rector at Harleston, Leicestershire in 1428.
Robert de Hauberk, Lord of Scalford
Robert and his wife, Agnes Barnack, were the parents of Sir Laurence Hauberk, of Teigh, knight, who inherited the manor of Stapleford and John Hauberk who inherited the manor of Scalford.
In 1372 tenants James Bretoun of Fulbek and Avice, his wife, who rented 1 messuage and 42 acres of land and 4 acres and 1 rood of meadow in Scaldeford, acknowledged the tenements to belong to Agnes Hauberk. Agnes paid them 20 marks. In 1376, it is noted that the mother of Laurence Hauberk, son of Robert, was Agnes who held lands in Scaldeford for life. That same year there was a warrant of attorney from Guy de Ronclife, clerk, to Thomas de Melburn, clerk and Sir John Hauberk to deliver seisin to Laurence, son of Robert Hauberk, of property in Stapleford, Saxby, and Berow with reversion of land in Scaldeford. Robert Hauberk had died, and left his wife a life estate in Scalford with his son John receiving the estate in remainder. Laurence received Stapleford, Saxby, and Berow.
1392 will of Agnes Hauberk of Scaldeford
In August, 1392 the will of Agnes Hauberk, of Scaldeford was written. It was made at Scaldeford before John, vicar there, Laurence de Coston chaplain, and William Hunt. She requested burial in All Saints’ Church, Scaldeford. She gave bequests to the High Altar, Lincoln; the Chapel of S. Trinity, Grantham; The Church of St. Katherine without the Gate, Lincoln; and to her spiritual children she gave 1 sheep. She also left legacies to Margaret wife of John Calveley, knight; Ralph Goos*; Isabella de Caldwell; Richard Parkynson of Gryinston; Agnes Gerneys; and John son of John Haubark. To Laurence de Coston, her chaplain, she gave his salary from Michaelmas 16 Richard II until next Michaelmas. To Sir John Haubark, knight she left twelve sheep. To William Hunt for writing the testament a bequest and to Matilda, wife of William Lathum of Apeketilby; Agnes Foncher; and Alice, wife and Agnes daughter of John Haubark she left bequests. She noted that William Cheyne owed here 22 marcs. The executors were Sir John Calveley knight, Master John Hauberk, clerk, my son John Hauberk, & William Joy*. It was proved at Stowe Park, March 5, 1392. * Could these be Ralph Gee and William Gee?
Master John Hauberk, clerk is most certainly Sir John Hauberk Prebend of Leighton Manor, who was the kinsman of her husband, Robert Hauberk. His story follows below.
Sir John Huberk, son of Sir Hugh Hauberk
Sir John Huberk is noted in the 1580 Visitation of Cheshire as having married Mary, daughter of Sir Thomas Alesbuy. Sir John Huberk was the father of Sir Henry Huberk who married Jone, (Johannah) daughter and coheir of Walter Barnack, son of Walter Barnak and a Woodford. Jone was the sister of Agnes Barnack, wife of Robert Hauberk.
Sir Henry Huberk and Jone Barnack were the parents of Maud (Matilda) Huberk who married Sir Hugh Calveley, son of Sir John Calveley, Anne Huberk who married Robert Sherrard, and Mary Huberk who married Sir Norman de Swinford.
Other resources (Life of Edward Bouverie Pusey and Teh Genalogical History of the Family of Brabazon) states that Robert Sherrard married Agnes, the daughter of Lawrence Hauberk. It seems that this is really the more likely descent, given the great battle that later occurred between John Hauberk and the Calveleys over control of the Hauberk estates.
The name for this branch survived as Hubert in Leicestershire according to Nichols, but in the 1619 visitation, the name is also given as Hubarke. In the same record, the pedigree of the Gee family gives the name as Hawbarke of Stobleforde.
The Sherrard family of Leicester is said to have descended from the Scherards of Cheshire and Lancashire. The 1619 visitation give the descent of the Sherard of Stapleford, arms Argent, a chevron between three torteaux, as descending from Thomas Sherard of Lancashire, through his son second son Robert who married “Anna” daughter and heir of …. Hubarke of Stapleford. Their son Lawrence married first a daughter of …Folvile, the mother of Galfred, and after her death a daughter and heir of Woodford. Galfred Sherard married Joice (Joyce) daughter of Thomas Ashbye of Losebye. Their sons were Thomas, who married Margaret Helwell, Laurence, William, and Robert Sherard who married a daughter of Digby of Welby. Thomas and Margaret were the parents of Francis Sherard amont several daughters, and a son second son Thomas. Francis married Anne More of Lincolnshire, and they had four sons: William, Sir Phillip Sherard of Stapleford, Knighted by King James in 1602, George and William. Sir Philip Sherard married Abigail the daughter of Cecil Cave. He died in 1640. Their son was Baron Bennet Sherard of Leitrim.
Robert Sherard who married a Digby was the father of Rowland Sherard. Rowland married a daughter of Austin Porter of Beeton in Lincolnshire. Their son Sir William Sherard of Loyingthorpe in Linconshire married, as his second wife, Bridget daughter of Kenolm Digby of Stok….
The Calvelys were from Cheshire originally, and appear to have removed to Leicestershire and Rutland for the express purpose of building themselves a landed estate in Rutland and Leicesterhire. Sir Hugh Calveley, knight, was a famous warrior fighting in Brittany, Normandy and Calais. He earned his knighthood around 1361. Calveley was among the knights who formed the Free Companies of mercenaries that raided across France. His last military campaign was with John of Gaunt in the unsuccessful bid to gain the throne of Castile. He married Constanza, lady in waiting to the queen of Aragon, and was made Count of Carrion. He served the Black Prince as soldier and emissary to Aragon. In 1375 to 1378 he was governor of Calais. Later, he was one of the Admirals of the English fleet. In a raid on Brittany, when 20 ships and a thousand men perished, Calvely with only seven others survived. His tomb effigy is in St. Boniface church in his home in Bunbury, Cheshire. He died in 1394, leaving his nephews as heirs.
Pedigree in the Visitation of Cheshire
The Visitation of Cheshire 1580 shows Margret Queene of Arragon as the first wife of Sir Hugh Calveley. This is clearly in error. His second wife is given as the daughter and heire of Mottram. The pedigree states his son and heir by his second wife was Hugh Calveley who married a daughter of Honford of Honford. However, the settlement of his estate clearly was vested in his grand- nephews, the sons of Hugh Calveley. The pedigree states that the son of Hugh Calveley was Sir Hugh Calveley who married Maud Huberk, the second daughter of Sir Henry Huberk. The arms of the Calvelys of Lea, Cheshire clearly display the Hauberk arms.
Arms of Sir George Calveley of Lea
The son of Sir Hugh Calveley and Maud Huberk was Sir Hugh Calveley of Utkinton who was slain at Boreheath in 1459. He married Margret daughter of Sir John Done of Utkinton. They were the parents of Elizabeth wife of John Eaton of Denbigh and Hugh Calvely, esquire, who married Christian daughter and heir of Cottingham. Hugh and Christian were the parents of Sir George Calvely of the Lea, Cheshire.
Sir John Calveley, the elder nephew, arrived in Rutland shortly before the murder of Laurence Hauberk in 1381 by Thomas Marward, a military associate of the elder Hugh Calveley. Marward received a royal pardon for his crime. Sir John Calvely married the widow, Margaret de Cheyne Folville Hauberk. She was a wealthy heiress and widow. Margaret held dower property in Teigh, Rutland, from Sir Christopher Folville, and the Hauberk estate in the village of Stapleford. She also was an heiress through her father.
The marriage moved John Calveley into position to become sheriff in both counties, a member of Parliament for both counties, and a justice. He secured, as sheriff of Rutland, the seat in Parliament for his cousin, who then married John’s stepdaughter, Agnes Hauberk. A fellow Cheshire knight, Sir Hugh Browe, married Elizabeth Folville, another stepdaughter. In 1387 John received a pardon for his debt to a London draper, John Hende. When kinsman, Robert Hauberk, was outlawed for debt, John Calvely acquired some of his Leicestershire estates.
Hugh Calveley, the younger nephew, was the son of David Calvely. He was also a warrior. In 1380, he went abroad as an esquire in the service of the Crown. Hugh then removed to Rutland where he held the manor of Barrow in Cotesmore, and joined his cousin, Sir John Calvely, who was Sheriff of Rutland. John helped Hugh secure election to Parliament and arranged for his marriage to his stepdaughter, Agnes Hauberk. In 1385, Hugh joined Richard II’s unsuccessful campaign against the Scots. Hugh Calveley went with John of Gaunt, in his campaign for the throne of Castile. He made powerful allies in Sir Robert Grosvenor and Sir Hugh Browe, both knights from Cheshire.
Upon the death in 1392 of Agnes Hauberk, widow of Robert, and grandmother of Agnes Hauberk Calvely, John and Hugh Calvely began a campaign to secure the ownership of the manor of Scalford from John Hauberk. The parties brought suits against each other, and eventually agreed to have John of Gaunt and members of the royal council arbitrate. However, the Crown intervened and gave the Calveleys custody of the goods and chattels in the manor, the revenues, and required the sheriff to hold the real property until settlement at law. Hugh Calvely died in 1393 and his aged uncle, Sir Hugh of Bunbury, became guardian of his two sons, David and Hugh. After the uncle died in 1394 they were placed under the guardianship of Sir Robert Leigh in Cheshire.
In 1396, Agnes and Sir John Calveley, gained control of the manor of Scalford. By 1396, Sir John Calveley had gained their guardianship, along with that the Cheshire estates of Sotwick and Lea in Cheshire. In 1400, Henry IV gave custody of the manor of Stapleford and rents to John Calveley. In 1403 John was slain at Shrewsbury. His son, John Calveley, became an esquire of the body to Henry IV in 1407.
Laurence Hauberk, Murdered in 1381 son of Robert Hauberk and Agnes
Claxton was also known as Long Clawson. It was situated near Melton Mowbry and Scalford. In 1361 Sir John de Folevyle, who then possessed the whole of the manor of Saxby, gave to Ralph Sachevyl rector of Twyford, Thomas de Gaddesby, record of Ashby Folvile, Lawrence Hauberk, and others, the reversion of one moiety of that manor, with the lands, etc. thereto belonging, together with the manor and advowson of Tye (Teigh) in Rutland, and the manor of Thirleby, Lincoln. The witnesses were Sir Roger Beler, Sir Matthew de Folville, Geoffrey Vilers, and others.
In 1361 Ralph de Secchevill, parson of Twyford, Thomas de Gaddesby, parson of Ashby, John Veisy, vicar of Billesdon, Laurence Hauberk, and John de Frysseby gave a power of attorney to Ralph Basset of Sapcote, Ralph de Lyngeyne, Roger Cheyne, John de Charleton, priest of Skegyingwiche, William Chambleyn of Whissendine, Laurence Hauberk of Scalford, Jakemyn of Folville, Ralph Foraunce and William de Cassethorp; Laurence Hauberk, to enter into the manor of Teigh and take possession.
In 1362, Lawrence Hauberk of Claxton released the reversion of the manor and advowson of Teigh to Geoffrey de Foleville. The document was signed at Grymston.
In 1364 Laurence Hauberk of Claxton, and Thomas, abbot of Croxton, were given power of attorney by Nicholas de Dovorra, master of the hospital of Burton St. Lazarus, who was going over seas. In 1364 John son of William atte Watre surrendered to Fleete prison, after not appearing to answer Laurence Hauberk regarding a debt of 30₤.
In 1367 Laurence Hauberk was appointed surveyor of the forest of Roteland (Rutland) and of vert and venison therein. Laurence married Margaret Cheyne widow of Sir Christopher Foleville.
Dame Margaret Hauberk, the widow of Sir Christopher de Foleville, is said to have defrauded the heir of Sir John Foleville of Ashby. This heir was Mabel, daughter of Geoffrey de Foleville. Mabel’s estate was the manor of Teigh, Rutland. Initially, Sir John Foleville gave a life estate in the manor to Christopher Foleville and his wife, Margaret, his servants.
It was claimed that after the death of her husband, Sir Christopher, Margaret made a false deed and upon the death of Sir John used his seal to certify deeds to the heirs of Chrisopher and Margaret. It was stated that …she occupied such a false estate by maintenance of one called Lawrence Hauberk that wedded her after… nevertheless she delivered and made confession ere she died that she had made false deeds and disinherited the right heirs of Sir Geoffrey Foleville…the said deeds (were) delivered …to Mabel of Woodford and to Sir Robert of Woodford, true heirs lineal to the manors of Ashby Foleville and Teigh Foleville…
In 1374 Geoffrey Foleville died and his wife, Isabell, obtained from John, King of Castile and Duke of Lancaster, the lands in Teigh and the marriage of her daughter, Mabel, to John de Woodford.
Isabel Foleville leased the lands in Teigh, which she held in trust for her daughter Mabel, to Lawrence Hauberk and Margaret his wife, in 1375. This was the same Margaret de Cheyne, de Folville. She was the daughter of Roger de Cheyne and Isolda, and sister to Marjory de Cheyne, wife of Ralph Lyngeyn, knight and Member of Parliament for Hereford in 1373.
The manor of Teigh passed to Elizabeth Foleville, daughter of Margaret and Sir Christopher in 1390, when Mabel, then the wife of John de Woodford, conveyed a life estate and the advowson to Elizabeth and her husband, Sir Hugh Browe, with reversion to John de Woodford and Mabel and their heirs. Interestingly, the manor of Teigh passed to Thomas Sherrard of Stapleford, who died in possession in 1538, through his wife, a descendent of Hugh Browe.
In 1370, as esquire to the king, Laurence Hauberk was sent to Berwick-upon-Tweed and from there along the sea-coast to secure shipping for Robert Knolles to Normandy. In 1371, Laurence Hauberk was sheriff of Rutland. He was ordered to choose and array 10 men-at-arms and 20 archers for the defense of Southampton. He then went to France for a year under John Nevill, as an attorney in 1372 and again in 1374. Also serving under John Neville in 1372 was William Hauberk.
In 1375 a commission was given to Roger Belers, Ralph de Cromwell, John de Berkeley, John Lodlowe, Robert de Morton, Laurence Hauberk, Nicholas Grene, and William de Burgh …to make and inquisistion in Nottingham regarding evildoers, armed and arrayed for war, who lay in wait for the king’s esquire, John Cheyne, at Langar, and there assaulted him. They were charged with arresting those indicted with their arms and armour, keeping them in prison until further ordered, and to appraise the arms and armour and send the value to the king. John Cheyne, esquire to the king, had married Joan Wodeward, daughter and heir of John de Wodeford (Woodford).
In 1376 is an association of Laurence Hauberk with John, king of Castile and Leon and Duke of Lancaster, and his fellows, keepers of the peace and justices of oyer and terminer in the county of Leicester. In 1378 Laurence Hauberk, William Spenser, of Langtoft, and others were a commission of oyer and terminer on a complaint by Ralph de Hatynges, knight, that a large group, including Robert Venables, hayward, broke his closes and houses at Shankton, Leicester, by night, entering and hunting in his free warren at Nowesley, mowed his grass at Herdwyk, and carried away his goods at Shankton, including hares, rabbits, pheasants, and partridges from his warren, taking eight horses, eighteen oxen, six cows, eight calves and three hundred sheep at Herdewyk, depasturing his corn and grass at Herdewyk and Shankton, and assaulting his men and servants at Nowesley. Likewise, they took away timber from his houses.
In 1379 an arrest order was issued for William Wykyng of Neunham, parson of the church of Stokedrie, for not appearing to render 40₤ to Laurence Hauberk of Ty, Rutland.
In 1379 (Richard II) at Shropshire, Ralph Lyngeyn, knight and Majory, his wife, with Laurence Hauberk and Margaret, his wife, sued Richard, Earl of Arundel for the manor of Bukenhulle. A pedigree which was attached states that Roger de Cheyne, and his wife Margery, were the parents of Roger de Cheyne who married Isolda. Roger and Isolda were the parents of Marjory de Cheyne, wife of Ralph Lyngeyn, knight and Margaret de Cheyne, wife of Laurence Hauberk. Ralph Lyngane was M.P. for Hereford in 1373.
In 1380 at Northampton a pardon was issued to Laurence Hauberk, esquire, for all felonies, trespasses, embraceries, champerties, conspiracies, confederacies, extortins, and oppressions done by him in the realm; also for all trespasses of ver and venison in forests. This was likely connected to his service as sheriff or in consideration of his service in France.
Thomas Marward, (Mereward, Maureward, Musard) who lived about 1358 to 1424, of Goadby Marward, in Leicestershire, was given a royal pardon for killing Laurence Hauberk in 1381. His arms were azure a fess argent between three cinquefoils or, and it is likely he was related to the Hauberks whose arms were argent on a bend sable three cinquefoils, or. He later fell into displeasure for aligning himself with Bolingbroke.
John Hauberk of Scalford son of Robert Hauberk and Agnes
John Hauberk was the second son of Robert Hauberk and Agnes Barnack. He married Alice and was the father of Agnes and John Hauberk. He resided in Scalford, but also participated in campaigns in France for a year in 1368.
In 1377 and 1378, in Leicestershire, John Hauberk, with Roger Belers, and Ralph de Fererres, James Belers and others were commissioned to keep men-at-arms and archers to resist foreign invasion, according to the form of the like commission of the late king, causing beacons to be set up in the usual places to give notice of the arrival of the enemy. At the same time, in Rutland, Laurence Hauberk was commissioned with others to do the same.
In 1378, John Hauberk, with John Grey of Codenore, Thomas Grene, James Belerys, William Bernak and Simon Symeon were commissioned to enquire about the death of Thomas Drakelowe and Robert his brother, and Thomas Hore, a servant, at Alhokeston, Leicester. In 1386, in London the records note that John Hauberk of Scaldeford was fined for not appearing to answer Thomas Giene, knight, regarding a debt of 20₤.
In 1396, John Purley and John Folville granted to Robert Sherrard and Agnes, his wife, and the heirs of the body of Agnes, the manor of Scalford. Should Agnes not have children, then the manor was to pass to John Hauberk of Scaldeford and the heirs of his body and after, to the rightful heirs of Agnes Hauberk (evidently a sister to John and aunt to Agnes.)
In 1398 is a notation that Jamykyn (?) Hauberk of Scaldeford gave a bond to Robert Sherrard of Scaldeford for 6 marks. In 1400 John Hauberk served in Calais for a year under Sir Peter Courtenay. It was in 1413 when John Hauberk and Alice his wife brought suit against John Oxenford of Bishop’s Lynne for not rendering his account for the time he was their receiver. This was filed in London. John Hauberk was noted in 1417 as a man-at-arms under John Roos, Lord of Helmsley, serving under Humphrey, Duke of Gloucester in the expedition to France.
The Extinct Line of Sir Nicholas Hawberk
This brass in the St. Mary Magdelaine, at Cobham shows Nicholas Hawberk wearing platemail with a bacinet and aventail. Beside him is a symbol of Christianity, the curled fish. His head is resting on his tilting helm which the one pictured on the right. He stands on a mound with a lion, and the small minature of his son, John, stands beside him. The inscription reads: “Here lies Nicholas Hawberk esquire third husband of Lady Jone Lady of Cobham heir of Lord John of Cobham Founder of this college which same Nicholas died at Cooling Castle on the ninth day of October AD 1407. On whose soul may the lord have Mercy. Amen”.
I have not found any connection between Nicholas and Laurence Hauberk of Scalford, or Sir John Hauberk, prebend; however, I firmly believe that this is his family. In 1385, Nicholas Hauberk, the king’s esquire, was given the goods and chattels of John Beneit, outlawed, of Salisbury, valued at 40₤ for his maintenance. In 1390 a pardon was issued at the supplication of Baldwin de Bereford, to Nicholas Hauberk, esquire, for the death of Peter Imaynesson of Richmondshire who was killed in Candelwykstrete, London. Nikill (Nicholas) Hauberk, knight, a man-at-arms under Sir William Mennel, and commanded by Sir Stephen le Scrope was in the standing force in Ireland. Nikill Hauberk, knight, a man-at-arms served under Sir William Menell, captain and Sir Stephen le Scrope, commander in 1395 to 1397 as a member of the standing force in Ireland.
In 1393 at Smithfield Sir Nicholas Hawberke, knight, rode five courses (jousting) against Cookeborne, esquire of Scotland who had challenged him. Cookeborne lost. The tilting helme of Nicholas Hawberk is at Cobham church and displays a crest of a fish inside a ring. The fish was a symbol of Christianity.
In 1397 Thomas Stokkes, parson of Middelton Chaynduyt in the diocese of Lincoln resigned at the king’s command, in order that the king’s clerk, Henry Hauberk, brother of Nicholas Hauberk, the king’s knight might have the position.
Richard II granted, for life or until further order, to Nicholas Hauberk, knight, because he was retained to stay with the king for life, 40₤ a year at the Exchequer. This was surrendered and cancelled, because the king granted to him 100 marks a year on January 29, in his seventeenth year. In 1398, Nicholas Hauberk was granted 27 marks during the war with France, which was to come from the farmers of the slien priory of Langenyth, in the king’s hand on account of the war.
In 1399, the King confirmed the grant from Richard II to Nicholas Hauberk of 100 markes yearly and letters patent grant to him for life 40₤ yearly. He was among those who in 1399 included in the army of the Duke of York.
Nicholas Hawberk was first married to Maud de Mohun, widow of Sir John le Strange, Lord Strange of Knockin, Shropshire. Lord Strange and Maud were married in June, 1369 and were the parents of Aline le Strange, Sir Richard le Strange of Knockin, and Sir Thomas Strange, Knight. Lord Strange died July 28, 1397. Maud died September 20, 1400. It is noted in the Calendar Rolls in 1403 that Maud Lestrange late wife of Nicholas Hauberk, ‘chivaler,’ during the minority of one Richard Corbet, son and heir of John Corbet of Legherton of Cawus, lately in her custody, so that after the said Richard came of full age they should enfeoff him of the manors; the king grants the manors to the said Nicholas for his aid and for the salvation of the said Richard, a minor in his custody….
In 1402 Nicholas was among the six knights who escorted Queen Isabella, the widow of Richard II, back to France. After Maud’s death, Nicholas Hawberk married Joan de la Pole, Baroness of Cobham, Kent. Their son, John was born in 1406 and died the following year.
Joan de la Pole was first married to Sir Robert Hemenhale, knight who died September 25, 1391 in Burnham Norton, Norfolk. They were married in November, 1380. Joan then married Sir Reynold Braybroke, knight. He died September 20, 1405 in Middleburg, Oost Vlaanderen, Belgium. After the death of Sir Nicholas Hawberk, Joan married Sir John Oldcastle, Lord, who died December 25, 1417 in St. Giles in the Fields, Middlesex. Her final husband was Sir John Harpeden, from Poitou, Aquitaine, France. He survived Joan, who died January 13, 1434 in Cobham, Kent.
In 1400 a suit was filed before William Brampton, Mayor of the Staple of Westminster, by William Brestour, citizen and saddler of London, against Nicholas Hauberk, knight and John Wiltshire, knight for the huge amount of £266. 13x. 4d. In 1404 Nicholas Hauberk, knight, captain of the castle of Flynt in Wales, who was staying on there in the king’s service was given protection for one year. In 1407 Nicholas Hauberk with others was commissioned to form an array of men-at-arms for defence against the French in the county of Kent.
While Nicholas Hauberk, knight of Cobham, Kent died in 1407, there is a notation in 1409, regarding Robert Swynfen at Welle, county of Stafford, for not appearing to answer Nicholas Hauberk, knight regarding a debt of 28₤ 14 ½ d.
Nicholas left by deed made a few days before he died, all his goods and chattels, reserving 100 shillings of silver, to Sir Hugh Lutterel, Sir Arnold Savage, William Cobham, Esquire, and John Giffard, in trust for his wife, Joan, Lady Cobham. The arms given on the brass in Cobham are checky argent and gules a chief chapourne gules and ore; a silver and red check having therto of the shield red edged with gold. On the sinister side the same coat impales that of Cobham. Evidently the heralds attempted to deface both the arms and the helmet crest based on their belief that he was not entitled to bear them. Clearly he was a knight in all the records, but evidently these were not his entitled arms. Another source states that Nicholas Hawberks arms were; barry nebuly of six or and vert, and that this was also the same as the Guild of Haberdashers. A word study stated that Haber and Haubuert are of the same root and source, being from a term designating a coarse cloth or fustian used under armor. Barry nebuly were wavy vertical bars, in this case six of gold and green.
The Digby family was descended from Aelmar who held land in Tilton during the reign of William the Conqueror. He was the father of Sir John de Tilton, and Sir Everard Digby, of Telton who married Amicia Bretton. Sir Everard was the father of Walter a monk, Robert of Digby and of Tilton who married Anne of Herle, Linconshire. Robert died before 1224 and was the father of Robert Digby of Digby who married Ida daughter of John Fitzherbert, and Thomas. Robert had a large family: Sir John Digby who married Arabella daughter of Sir William Harcourt; Nicholas Digby, Hugh Digby, and William Digby, a clerk. John Digby and Arabella were the parents of Sir John Digby of Tilton and William Digby of Brantwell, Lincolnshire. Robert Digby was the father of Robert, and John. Robert and his wife Sibella were the parents of John in 1315 and Elizabeth in 1339. John Digby married Elizabeth Ofevill daughter of Sir William Ofevill. Their son Robert died before 1403. He was married to Catharine, daughter of Simon Pakeman of Kirby. Robert and Catharine were the parents of Simon Digby of Tilton Leicestershire and Drystoke, Rutland. He died before 1422. His brother Robert died very young.
Simon married Joan, the daughter of Sir James Beler. They were the parents of Sir Everard Digby, (alias Greenleaf) sheriff, Rutland and a member of Parliament. He was slain at Towton in 1461 as were his three brothers, fighting against King Edward IV. His wife was Anne, daughter of Sir Francis Clarke of Whiffendine. Ann and Everard were the parents of several children: Everard Digby, esquire (alias Greenleaf) who married Jaquetta Ellis, daughter of John Ellys of Devonshire (Yorkshire Branch), and died in 1509; John Digby of Preston who married a Lee and was the father of Christopher of Tamworth of Leak; Dervorguilla wife of Robert Hunt of Lyndon, Rutland; and Margaret who married Sir William Skeffington, knight and lord deputy of Ireland. After Margaret’s death Sir William Skeffington married Anne, the daughter of Sir John Digby of Kettleby, who died in 1523.
Sir Everard and his wife Jaquetta Ellis were the parents of seven sons and several daughters: Sir Everard Digby of Drystoke who married Margaret daughter of Sir John Haydon of Norfolk; Sir Simon Digby; Sir John Digby of Eye Kettleby; Lebbaeus Digby of Luffenham; Rowland Digby of Lee; Thomas Digby; Benjamin Digby; Alice; Ellen; Catharine a nun at Sempringham; Darnegold, wife of Robert Hunt of Lyndon, Rutland. The seven sons of Everard Digby fought at Bosworthfield in Leicestershire against Richard III.
Sir Simon Digby, the second son, was knighted in 1477 by Edward IV, and given forestship of Thornewood Forest; and for his service in Bosworthfield, he was made steward of the lordships of Uppingham, Preston, Barrowden, Esenden, and Greetham in Rutland. In 1485 he was a commander at the battle of Stoke, and received the manor of Ravisbury I Mitcham, Surrey in 1487. He was made comptroller of the petty customs in the port of London in 1488. Then, in 1495 he received the manors of Finborough and Cantlewes in Suffolk and Coleshill in Warwick. He was sheriff of Leicester and Warwick in 1509 and 1517. He died in Coleshill in 1519.
Sir Thomas Digby, the sixth son, was esquire of the body of King Henry VII, bailiff of Oulney, Buckingham.
Sir John Digby, of Eye Kettleby, the third son, was knighted for his service in Bosworthfield, and was knight marshall of King Henry VII’s household. He was Sheriff of Warwick and Leicester in 1515 and of Rutland in 1491, 1517 and 1523. He fought in the Low Country wars in 1511, and in the battles of Therouenne and Tournay, Captain of Calais, and died in the 15th year of Henry VIII, at Melton.
The will of John Dibgy of Eye Kettleby, was filed in 1533 at Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire.
….Whereas by my deade …hth given and granted and by the same deade confirmed to John Willoughby of Willoughby in the county of Nottingham, John Harrington of Exton, George Mackworth of Empingham, Everard Digby of Stoke Drye, John Toky of Southluffenham in the county of Rutland, John Brokesby of Frisby, and John Digby of Olleby in the county of Leicester my manor of Southluffenham… With the appurtenances in the county of Rutland… with their appurtnances in Southluffenham, Northluffenham, Sculthorpe and Pulton, to have to the said John Willoughby and other the said cofeofes (coowners) and their heirs…. To the use of Dam Sanche Digby, wife….
I will that my said wife… Tenements in Northluffenham, Southluffenham, Sculthorpe, and Pilton… for her life… after … my sonne Symon Digby … remainder to John Digby, son and heir of William Digby…., for default of such yssue… to maile heirs of my son William Digby … and the remainder to the heirs mailles…. Where as I … making the said deade of feoffrement to the said John Willoughby and other messuages, lands and tenements in Tekesore, Morecott, Harrowden, Seyton, Thorpe and Pistroke Orells (?)….
Son Symon Digby… John Digby, son and heir of William Digby… My son William Digby … my daughter Elene (Helen) Mountague … late wife to my son William Digby of Lubbenhamm, now deceased, daughter of John Roper late general attorney to our sovereyne lord the King….
Prayers for …Dame Katherine Digby, William Digby, John Stirley, Roos Digby, Percivell Asheby and children. My son Symon, my doughter Alice, my son Syr Rouland, my wife dame Sanche Digby.
Supervisors …my son Sir William Skevington, my cosin Sir Everard Digby, knights, son Sir Rouland Digby Clerke, cosin John Digby of Olleby,
The Poole Family
The Poole family was noted in the 1580 Visitation to Cheshire. Thomas Poole of Poole was the father of Sir William Poole who married a daughter of Randall Manwaring of Peover. They had three sons: Sir Thomas who married Grace Ffitton, a daughter of Sir Edward Ffitton of Goseworth, Ralfe Poole of Chester and Richard Poole who married Mary daughter of Ralfe Pembridge. Sir Thomas Poole and Grace were the parents of Thomas, Randoll, Sir William, and four married daughters. William was the father of Thomas who married Mary daughter of Sir John Talbott of Grafton. They were the parents of John Randoll, Thomas William Barnabas, and several daughters. John Randoll Poole was noted in 1566 and 1580. Randall Manwaring is noted in the 1613 Visitation of Cheshire to have married a daughter of Poole of Bradbore.
Poles of Derbyshire
Sir William de Wakebridge’s sister Cecilia married Sir John de Pole of Hartington, and she brought the Manor of Wakebridge to him and his heir. Of this line was German (Jermyn) Pole who married Margaret, daughter of Edward de Ferrars. His first wife had been the daughter of German Pole of Radbourne. He died in 1588. Another son of Sir John and Cecilia was Sir Peter Pole who was MP for Derby in 1400 married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Laughton. Elizabeth Loughton was heiress of Wakebridges. Peter’s family originated in Staffordshire, at Newborough, and had relocated at Hartington, in the Wapentake of Wirksworth. Sir Peter was also brother to Ralph Pole, Judge of the King’s Bench in 1452, who was one of the Commissioners for Derbyshire for the raising of money for the defence of Calais, and a Judge of Assize in Yorkshire in 1456. Sir Peter Pole, of Radbourn, Knight was the father of Ralph, John and Henry Pole (Poole). Ralph Pole, son and heir, married Joan Grosvernor, and their son, Ralph married Mary Motton. He was Sheirff in 1477 and died in 1491. His son was German Pole who married Anne Plumpton of Hassop, who died in 1552.
Henry Pole of Heage married the heir of Robert Dethick, ward of Sir Peter Pole. Her sister, Isabel, married Thomas Babington, and brought Dethick manor to him. This Thomas Babington was descended from the Northumberland Babington family which gave rise in the 13th century to the Babington branches in Yorkshire, Cambridge, Nottingham and Devon as well as Derbyshire. It is from the latter that the Leicester and Oxford families descended. Intermmarriages continued between the Babington and Poole families. In the time of Queen Elizabeth, Eleanor Poole, widow of William Poole and John Poole, his son, sued in Chancery, Sir William Babington, of Kiddington, Oxfordshire, regarding manors in Gloucestershire.
Sir Henry Poole, of Kirk Langley, Derbyshire and Withcote, in Leicester was born about 1507. He was the son of Henry Poole of Chesterfield, Derbyshire and Ursula, the daughter of Thomas Twyford of Kirk Langley and his wife Dorothy Cave, the daughter of Richard Cave of Stanford, Northamptonshire. Henry Poole entered the order of St. John of Jerusalem (Hospitalers) in 1528. He was in Malta in 1535, and while there he was appointed preceptor of Dalby. Upon his return to Dalby he had a conflict with Humphrey Babington, the lessee of the demesne of Dalby. In 1540, when the Order of St. John was suppressed, Henry was pentioned at 200 marks. He continued living in Dalby, until 1544 when his cousin Andrew Nowell purchased his interest there. In 1544 Henry led a Leicestershire contingent in the war with France. He still held the title of knight, though he had renounced his monastic vows, and this was likely a consequence of his continued service as a knight militari.
Upon the death of her first husband, Henry married Dorothy Smith, the sister of Sir Ambrose Cave. Dorothy brought Withcote to Henry as she held a life tenancy through her first marriage. This was their main home. Having married into the Cave family, Henry was soon elected to Parliament in 1554. In 1558 he was sheriff until his death in 1559. The will of Henry Poole of Withcocke, Leicestershire and Derby was probated in 1558 in the Perogative Court of Canterbury. It provided for his wife, his stepchildren, his two illegitimate children, and his several brothers and nephews. His son was Henry Poole alias Carter and his daughter Elizabeth married John Buss of Lincolnshire. Henry’s brother William was his executor. At Kegworth in 1580 is Robert Poole.
In Search of Nicholas Ellis
If Frances was the daughter of an Ellis of Cheshire, then it would seem this was the family of Overleigh or of Prestbury and Prestwich in Lancashire. The first of these were of Welch descent. In the north aisle of St. Mary’s Church, Chester is the memorial:
Here lie interred Mathew Ellis, of Overleigh, in the county of the City of Chester, one of the gentlemen of the Body Guard to King Henry VIII, son of Ellis ap Dio ap Grifith, lineally descended from Tudor Trevor, Earl of Hereford. He died 20 April, 1574. Alice his wife died 1547. His son, Mathew Ellis, of Overleigh, gentleman died in 1575, whose wife Elizabeth daughter of Thomas Browne, of Netherlegh, gentleman, died 1570, having Julian, who was married to Thomas Cowper, of Chester, Esqurie, Margery, and Mathew Ellis, of Overleigh, gentleman.
A separate family named Ellys/Ellis originated in Prestwich a hamlet now incorporated into Manchester, and it would appear that the family recorded in Prestbury, Cheshire was from this family. In 1584 Willia Ellisse of Wythington married Ales Okes in 1584, and in 1585, Henry Ellys of Withington, is recorded to have married Margaet Johnson. Earlier records of this family have eluded me.
At Okethorp in Leiester was John Elys, son of William, in the 2th year of Edward II. Elias de Okethorp was a witness to an undathed charter of William, son of Elys de Okethorp. Geoffrey Elys was noted in the reign of Edward III. In 1586 and 1615, James Ellys, senior, was noted as mayor of Leicester. His son James was mayor in 1628. James Ellis, woollen-draper by his will filed in 1617 gave his house in Southe Gates to the Trinity Hopital in Leicester. His son, James Ellis, draper, by his will in 1630, after giving properties to his family, left these properties to the hospital in remainder, should his family not survive. The hospital inherited his house in Parchment Lane with the appurtenances and land adjoining and against the town wall, as well as a dovecote and close beyond the West Bridge.
The death of Nicholas Ellis was recorded September 12, 1543 at St. Clement, Eastcheap, London. The will of Margaret Ellys of Westminster, widow was filed in 1558. In it she leaves £10 to each to the four children of Nicholas Elles, her last husband, who were minors being William, Margery, Ann and Grace. She also gave John Ellis a gown. Her will notes her brother Sir Thomas Making and her daughters Ellen Ursula and Christian. Others noted were John Russel, Edward John William and Jane Higham, Robert Doughtie, and her brother Person and brother Higham. It is he who is likely the father of Nicholas Ellis master mason of London. The marriage of Nycholas Ellys and Margarett Chrystian, widow was recorded in London in 1551. In 1576 the will of Anthony Ellis (Eles) of St. Martin’s in the Field, London and East Moulsey, Surrey was filed.
In 1664, Anthony Ellis, mason of St. Martin’s in the Field, leased a piece of land on Leicester Field bounded by Hedge Lane. He built five houses with wall and gardens. In 1669, Anthony Ellis, mason, contracted to re-case with stone the the steeple tower of the Church of Saint Martin’s in the Field, but he did not fulfill his contract. In 1670 he agreed with Lord Leicester to continue building on Leicester Field and Swan Close. In 1671 he was taxed for 10 hearths in Leicester.
This family is likely connected to the same family of Sir John Ellis, who was descended from John Ellis of Treslenden, Suffolk son of Thomas Ellis, of Somerleyton, Suffolk, who was born in 1596. Thomas and Sarah were also the parents of Thomas of Lounde, Suffolk who had among others Nichola and Anthony Ellis. Sir John Ellis was also brother to a brother Anthony of Yarmouth, merchant and Mayor.
In 1494, William Ellis, Esquire, of Burton, Kent died leaving sons Thomas, Nicholas and John. William’s brother Richard died in 1471 also had a son Nicholas and John. This family was descended from Thomas Ellis of Burton, High Sheriff of Kent in the reign of Henry VI, whose decent is from William Ellis MP for Canterbury and the King’s Attorney in the Common Pleas in 1381. His arms were quartering or, on a chevron engrailed azure three escallops of the first between three leopards passant guardant sable. His brother was Thomas Ellis MP for Sandwich and Mayor in 1370 and 1382, whose arms were five escallop shells on a cross engrailed with a crescent in the first quarter. This family, based on the coat and crest, came into Kent from Kiddal, Yorkshire in the 13th century. Sir Thomas Ellis of Kiddal, killed in 1265, appears to be the father of the underage John who held one knight’s fee in Thanet and was later termed as Elias de Thanet.
The will of Nicholas Elles of Bracewell in Craven in 1533 notes his illegitimate son, Nicholas. In 1551 the will of Nicholas Ellis of Darrington, gentleman notes members of the Ellis family of Kiddall. The 1550 will of Richad Elles, priest of Leedes notes his brother Nicholas Ellis’s children, but none are Frances. Nicholas Elys of Cambridgeshire died in 1516 left his brother, John, as his heir. John Ellis, Esquire of Kiddal was the father of Nicholas, born in 1583. The will of Nicholas Ellys was filed in 1570 at Lichfield. As early as 1295, Nicholas Elys is noted in Nothamptonshire. In Kent is the will of George Ellis, of Ash near Sandwich, in 1560 who notes his son Nicholas. The will of Nicholas Ellis of Chiselhurst was filed in 1597 and notes sons Roger and Robert and daughter Sylvester.
In 1443 in Cambridgeshire is the will of John Ellys of Malketon in Cambridge in which he gave his son, Nicholas Elys, lands and tenements in the county of Essex. In the recotds of 38 Henry VI, Nicholas elys and his wife was conveyed lands in Malketon, Baryngton, and Orwell (Cambridge). Nicholas son of Elye is also noted in Clatton fine of land 19 Henry III.
Nicholas son of Elye hundred Rolls of Edwad I, Nicholas Elys, gentleman, Inquisition post mortem 7 Henry VII died seised of the manor of Rykesby in Bourne, held by military service. In the church in Bourne is a memorial to Richard Ellis and Margaret his wife. Near Bourne is a memorial to Jane Ellis, wife of John Ellis. The will of Nicholas Ellis of Bourne in 1616 notes his son Barnabye, a minor, son Robert. It was witnessed by Luke Ellis, who was mentioned in the will of his brother Richard as was another brother John of Bourne.